We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Ranked #6 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had a five-day-workshop here and I love its peaceful atmosphere very much. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view from the workshop room and bedroom to the inner garden was refreshing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Dear Wiwien,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online special offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 451 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Double rooms are really nice, single rooms a bit more basic. Both times I have stayed had a peaceful room overlooking the garden. Only £50 for the night and this includes secure car parking, wi-fi and breakfast. Following day they let me leave my car in the carpark whilst I did my business. Staff are super nice and helpful. Hotel is only 100m from Limehouse DLR station, so very convenient. This hotel will not suit everybody, no bar, no restaurant, no toiletries, no TV. But I really liked it.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden. Double bedded rooms a lot nicer than single bedded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Dear Jonathan,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online special offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I cannot praise this accommodation highly enough. I booked a single en suite with continental breakfast at the special offer price of £55. The standard of the room - clean, well furnished excellent bathroom, towels, bedding all superb value. No TV but free Wifi and a desk in my room. They even offer parking at £5 for 24 hours outside the congestion zone. The security was good - key pad on door and gate. My room overlooked a cloister garden, it was peaceful and big benefit - the windows actually opened.There was a pleasant lounge and I cannot fault the extensive cold buffet breakfast!.
My only suggestion is to avoid using the Docklands Light Railway as it cost me £4 for a single to travel 2 stations from Bank - which is itself horrendouly complicated to negotiate. Take a bus or walk. There are blue signposts for pedestrians fom Limehouse station.
I stayed here in order to attend Moorfields eye Hospital - beware bus routes. I caught a bus which claimed to be going direct to the hospital but halfway it changed its destination to Liverpool St. and dumped me there...Apparently this happens frequently.
I SHALL DEFINITELY USE THIS ACCOMMODATION AGAIN

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graqlvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannahDeller, Sales Development Officer at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback- we're so pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Sure, this is no place for a romantic weekend break with your partner.
However, this is a good place to sleep for the night, in a clean, comfortable, and remarkably peaceful setting.
As long as you understand the offering.... this place is a great find.
We will use again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Dear StewB

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online special offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, General Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#70 of 1,076 in London
3,566 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Foundation of St Katharine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $107 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. We have recently opened St Katharine's Precinct adjacent to our main site. This includes the only Yurt Cafe in London serving freshly prepared breakfast, Lunch and craft coffee 9am - 5pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing