We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Given this place five chances to shine”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #683 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Given this place five chances to shine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place clearly has a fan club! If the owners know you and you're a local/regular they schmooze, but never the less the food is poor, the service is dreadful, and on arrival you'll be lucky to be taken to your table unless you are one of the chosen few!
Also the main requisite for dining at this place is that you like dogs, not just like them but don't mind eating with them. Whilst eating, the owners and their dog owning friends discuss their animals and give them water from glasses taken from the bar while the dogs sit at the table eating their owners food ( not sure if this is a regular event but took place while we were there).
Anyway I digress, the food is poor, I mean it's laughable, the person who wrote 'great food' ad nauseum (see ealier review) needs to eat somewhere where great food is served.
Prawns burnt, lamb and steak tasteless and overcooked, pudding's bought from the catering shop etc etc..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHoneysuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    40
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food, great food,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first visit to The Rising Sun in Mill Hill.
It is a Family run Restaurant/Pub, with a cozy friendly atmosphere. The family pay attention to their clientel andproviding good food.
I can understand why other reviewers have praised the place.

We went on a Sunday and could have had the Sunday roast which at £ 13.50 with all the trimmings was good value, but we opted for the main menu which we are told continually changes depending on availability of ingredients. Bill was £ 66 including wine and service charge.
Glad we tried this little local gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyful12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had not been to this pub for some time, having moved out of the area, but decided to take a family member there on her birthday. We found it much better than we had expected, really very good indeed. A wide selection on the menu, friendly and efficient staff, and above all excellent food. Al you could hope for in an English pub, well done the Italians!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idonotlikecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Staff Xmas party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I often drive past this iconic pub, and this year my wife organised her staff Xmas party here. It was an excellent evening, and we will return and probably without the staff!! It is definitely worth a visit and the restaurant made a real Christmas atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nitricoxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing