We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Grazing Goat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grazing Goat
Ranked #65 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed three nights at this place. The location is very good for London, the room was big and modern (for London standards anyway), the staff was nice and helpful.
The downside - you are staying in a pub so is expected to be noisy. Our room was at the second floor,that means first floor above the restaurant (it goes: pub at 1st, gastropub at 2nd., and rooms started with the 3rd.). The view was pretty ugly (some red brick factory or hospital...), but better than the street side which I believe is noisier(the pub gets pretty animated in the evenings, and everybody's smoking outside). The problem on this floor is that the pub toilets are next door to your door so you can hear ladies chatting when queuing for the toilet... But the really nasty thing is the smell from the kitchen... the restaurant has a good selection of fish so the smell of fried fish when the restaurant is open is... there.
The restaurant is ok-ish, nothing to write home about - food looks nice but the taste is average (except the blueberries pancakes!). Very limited selection of ale and beer.
So, if you know London this is a great place for a night or two (beware - this is not a hotel, you don't have a reception, so count on the friendly help of the guys from the restaurant, you'll have a big key with a phone number on it , just in case something happen during the night... but you are pretty much on your own).
Maybe the rooms on the upper floors are more comfortable then ours...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The Grazing Goat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Staff brilliant, friendly and understanding. Food tasty and good value. Decor exactly to my taste (!). Only one problem - no spare iPad charger - other than that I can't recommend this place, or indeed any of the Cubitt House properties, enough. Love them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel fitted the break we'd planned ideally; great location, modern rooms, very helpfull and curtious staff. The food served in the the bar and restaurant was well presented and tasty. It is almost a restaurant with rooms
Yes there is no air con; but the rooms had wall mounted and floor standing fans, the bar shut promptly by 23.00hrs and peace was established within half an hour.
There is some London street noise but that is what we expected.
The breakfast was one of the best we'd had anywhere; everything cooked to order and a fair choice on the menu (management please consider pots of coffee). Seems a bit pricey at first but look at othe venues(also pricey) must be a London thing.
A big thank you to Moe for the room shuffle solution..! A big help thanks
Well done to all at Grazing Goat, we had a great time.

Room Tip: One of the party had a back room which was noisier than the front room we were in, this was due to t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed one night in this place, which is definitely better than any big hotel. Rooms are nice and stylish. The location is practical, very close to Marble Arch tube stop. There was one negative thing as for me: there is no air conditioning at all, so you need to keep the windows open, and I could not sleep the whole night because at first there is a street noise, people in the bar stayed till 1pm, then the noisy early morning traffic. You can stay in this place if you are a good sleeper! If not, you will suffer the whole night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Decor is lovely, but service very poor; we got put in a very hot room with no air conditioning which meant we needed to have the windows open. Directly outside our window were the very loud plant machinery - not ideal for anyone let alone when you have a 12 week old baby in tow. We also called in advance to ask for a car park recommendation for our Saturday night stay. We were told the best place to park was 'Crawford Street car park'. We were able to access the car park, but got locked in, as it only operates Mon-Fri. Again, being locked in an underground car park with a baby is far from ideal. When we explained what had happened to the hotel, they simply googled the car park and said 'oh yes, you're right'. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nononsencereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Friendly staff and great location two blocks from the Marble Arch tube stop. Stairs to the 3rd floor were not a problem outside of hauling luggage up but the staff was helpful with our bags. A little noise as we were facing the street but nothing that woke us up during the night. Bed was very comfortable and the stone-floor shower was great. Did not try breakfast at the pub but what we saw other people eating looked good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzyzxRoadExit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is not really a hotel but rooms above a pub. But when I say pub I'd rate this pub as very comfortable gastro+ with good clientele.

The rooms are a bit of a hike up stairs (no lift) and are very well finished, quality finishings and comfortable - I like the the feel and set-up. The staff, young and professional are a credit to the place and even though they are still finding there way around (i think because its so new) they are always willing to help.

Price is about 25% more than it should be as their are no hotel facilities like lounge etc for guests. But, if you don't care about that sort of thing this is a good find and I will be going back again (twice stayed already).

Noise is not an issues after 11.00 from outside.

Room Tip: Room E is small. If there are two of you suggest double rooms
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_need_a_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#299 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,072 in London
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grazing Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grazing Goat

Address: 6 New Quebec Street, London W1H 7RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $251 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Grazing Goat. Located in Marylebone on New Quebec Street, our pub offers a warm, rustic and comfortable interior with a delightful seasonal British menu. The Grazing Goat has eight beautiful rooms set over three floors. Each room boasts modern country house styled interiors, en-suite bathrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi and Aesop products. The rooms offer a tranquil escape from a busy London lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grazing Goat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grazing Goat London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing