We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow! You can't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roots at N1 - CLOSED

Roots at N1
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $90
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A venture of 3 professionals from The Ritz London, Benares Mayfair & The Oberoi New Delhi
Miami
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wow! You can't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner, was very, very good! The food, the service, the place. If you are in London you can't miss it, the place to go and eat the best indian food!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lurogo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear lurogo9,

Thank-you for dining with us. I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us and liked the food and service. When guests such as yourself have a great evening, it gives us immense satisfaction. Will certainly relay your feedback to the team.

Best wishes & see you sometime in the future.

Rohit & team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    50
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We went here based on the trip-advisor rating and were extremely impressed. The variety and tastes were excellent. The lamb shank was melt in your mouth. The black lentil dish was among the best I've had. Definitely a must. We spent 80 pounds not including wine. There are numerous Indian choices in London. Choose Roots if you want something different that the ususal
Indian fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ntraveler145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear ntraveler145,

Thank- you for dining with us. Feels great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for complimenting the food. I will relay this to the team who will be more than delighted to hear your feedback.

Best wishes and see you sometime soon.

Rohit & team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent one star Michelin Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not the common Indian food yet very tasty.
We got here after trip advisor reviews without any reservations and we had to wait for one hour in order to have dinner therefore we had a bottle of wine (chile) on the terrace with the basket of different nan bread.
Stuff were very welcoming and nice.
We ordered as a starter spicy cheese and squid : very nice taste
Main course: lamb (not lamb chops) comes as a whole thigh with very spicy sauce
Butter chicken : 4 big pieces with some zucchinis aside
A side of steamed rice
Beer and mango yoghurt juice
They offered us a small coffee sizes lentil soup as a starter and a a melon water as cocktail which was very thoughtful and tasty.

All of it for 70pounds which was fair as a price and not at all expensive.

The atmosphere is excellent. It is a fine dining Indian restaurant not at a the commercial style.
I have to disagree with a reviewer concerning the portion size because it is not small at all (cc pictures of all the dishes eaten)

Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyOBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear NancyOBK,

Thank you for dining with us and being so patient to wait for an hour. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful evening with us. It gives the team great satisfaction when people travel to dine with us.

I wish you well for your healthy cooking classes and I hope it goes a long way to helping people manage their diets.

Best wishes
Rohit & team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite neighbourhood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely food, lovely cocktails, lovely service. Not your average Indian food, considered flavours, great ingredients and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelopebenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Penelopebenn,

Thank- you dining with us once again and you kind comments. Always good to hear from you.

Best wishes and see you soon.

Rohit & team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

While it took a bit of doing to get to Roots from central London, the trip was well worth it. For starters, I got the salad with apples and walnuts, which came with a chili lime dressing that had a kick. The butter chicken was equally tasty as were the lamb chops that my
wife had ordered. My daughter ordered two appetizers for her meal that she raved about: one involved squid and the other a honey encrusted salmon dish. Side dishes were also good and generous. I particularly liked the chick peas. In all, a fine dining experience at Roots.

Helpful?
Thank tuscantraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Tuscantraveler9,

Thank you for making that journey and dining with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. The team will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Best wishes and see you soon

Rohit & team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Roots at N1 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing