We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only stay here if you must be in this location”
Review of New Market House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Market House
Ranked #336 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Thanks to a last minute need to travel to London and the fact that Wimbledon was on I didn't stay at the hotels I usually use because they either had no vacancies or had doubled in price. Getting a hotel was nearly impossible so I took what was available and this seemed the best of the bunch. Positive points are the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, a surprising good breakfast with excellent coffee and the cleanliness of the room I was in. I had booked what was euphemistically called a superior double. This is in a separate building alongside. The main door with code access was a bit battered and the hall and stairs are awful. There is also a terrible smell from the tyre store a few doors away. The room was however ever smell free, newly decorated and has a new en suite. But, it was very small without room for a proper wardrobe or even a chair. The windows were locked and no key produced. TV does not get any bbc channels so very limited in terms of radio channels. I am interested to know what makes this room superior! Or more interestingly what makes the rest not. Pub is nice, food not bad and atmosphere welcming which is probably as well since there is nothing else in the surrounding area. If you want to be in this area, they are charging their usual rates (during Wimbledon the superior roim wirh breakfast was over 300 for 2 nights) and you are just looking for somewhere to lay your head, this would do. There is no reason to stay otherwise.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trystlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for New Market House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

This B&B was a good location for a concert at the Emirates Stadium but a bit out of the way for other areas of London. Reasonable bus service or a brisk 15 minute walk to Kings Cross. Basic room but clean and reasonably comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good quality continental breakfast but served in a dimly lit bar area. Distracted by clearly hearing other guests in adjacent rooms and the outside road noise from traffic at a busy junction. Also early morning revellers courtesy of the Egg Club around the corner which stays open until 8AM on Saturday mornings and 10AM on Sunday mornings. Sadly let down by Location, Location, Location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_H186459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Provided what we needed, a bed for the night. We weren't after anything fancy, just something as cheap as possible. Room was basic, and shared bathroom was small, but expected little more given the price in London. Breakfast was good, a great selection of Crossaints, there was toast, meat, eggs, yogurts, cereal, fruit salad (from a tin) and fruit juice. You get what you pay for, this is cheap so dont expect fancy, but a decent place to crash for the night. Dont go if you are plannin gon spending lots of time in the room, but just for a bed, ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesabigail23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place was perfect for an overnight stay - friendly helpful staff and a great pub too! lovely continental breakfast with a great variety - room small and basic but ideal for 1/2 nights - handy for Finsbury park, Camden market etc if u don't mind long walks - plenty buses public transport if not. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This B&B was perfect for us from the point of location as we wanted to visit Camden Market and had tickets for a concert at The Forum. Would have been better without that smell of tires all over the building. Room is small but it's enough for two for one night. Lovely breakfast with a variety of pastry, teas and juices but unfortunately no meat or cheese plates. The initial welcome was not very hospitable but the staff in the Brazilian bar were great as well as the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Reception of B&B is in the bar, the rooms are accesible from another building next door. The corridors needs serious painting. We had a double King bedroom with bathroom, for 80 GBP/night, which is a lot smaller than what you see on the professional pictures. We could hear the guests in the next room very clearly, as well as the traffic & drunks outside.The rooms strongly smelled of Tyres, because the B&B is located above a store that sells hundreds of tyres.
Otherwise the shower works if you're not a large person and the bed matress is fine (very spongy). No power plugs for a hairdryer. TV works. There is a wardrobe with 5 hangers. There is a mini-fridge on the floor, which is very noisy in particular during nighttime... :) Thank god for my earplugs, i managed to get some sleep despise the above.
The breakfast is there until 09:00, but we didn't have it even though it was included (orange juice,toasts, croissant, cereals and yogurt - no fresh fruit).
Staff is very kind.
Transport: take bus 390 from Kings Cross or bus 274 from Caledonian road.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkymaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I thought this place was really nice! Obviously very basic, room quite small, a bit of a walk from Camden high street (better getting a bus to be honest). But it was very clean and comfortable - what more do people want?! The bar below served really tasty food and had a nice atmosphere, it's worth checking out. Breakfast was good. We had a shared bathroom which was right outside our door, and very clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Corner House Hotel
#746 of 1,072 in London
420 reviews
South Kensington
The Maranton House Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel
#936 of 1,072 in London
319 reviews
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
#901 of 1,072 in London
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#815 of 1,072 in London
338 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#894 of 1,072 in London
266 reviews
The Castle Bar
#172 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Market House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Market House

Address: Camden Town, North London 17 York Way, London N7 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $61 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Market House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Market House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Market House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing