We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sen Viet

Sen Viet
Ranked #248 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've been here many times. Not only is the food at least as good as the multiple establishment in Shoreditch, it's much easier to get to and (if you live centrally) much easier to get to. Pleasant service, not especially impressive surroundings but they are fine. I recommend the Banh Xeo pancake

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    141
    13
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading such great reviews!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Having read so many positive reviews we were really keen to try this restaurant, however we ended up very disappointed.
Service was incredibly brisk and it took a while to get someone's attention to order drinks.
Our starters were nice, but mains came ridiculously quickly (when we were still in the middle of starters, but they still tried to take the plates away!) which obviously meant they weren't freshly cooked and that came across in the taste, not nice and sloppy tasteless curry sauce. Rice was very dry and not at all 'fragrant'.
We tried the fried ice cream for dessert but the batter was stone cold and soggy so we didn't eat this and they removed it from the bill.
From the other reviews it seems like maybe we were unlucky, but even 2 girls who ordered take away while we were they were surprised when their food was ready in only a few mins!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cheap and tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've only ever had takeaways from Sen Viet so can't comment on the eating in experience. The food is very cheap, even moreso with a student discount (10%)! It arrived relatively quickly and was very filling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sky2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Very Good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was really good. Service was nice. Small informal setting but worth the visit! Recommend trying it out and hope to visit again .

Helpful?
Thank Imardwnlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is getting a regular at my London visits. My favourite restaurant in London Great food. Great service. And great value for money. Book table in the weekends. Was full last saturday. Going back 2 more times before christmas. Allready booked :)

Try the Phô. And the Saigon Red beer!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjordingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Viet also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Sen Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing