We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crooked Well

The Crooked Well
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crooked Well is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,965 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: new owners good food in bit of London off beaten track
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We discovered the Crooked Well on friday for dinner. having lived in Paris for many years we are both very difficult to please and we were were impressed with the quality of the ingredients the preparation and the presentaiton. The service was unhurried for a friday night and nice touches like a choice of breads and the staff who were well briefed and passionate about the food they were serving.

In addition we were allowed to take our puppy which makes a nice change form the majority of dog unfriendly restaurants and cafés in London.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    71
    20
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great local for cocktails or gastropub cuisine”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had been to this place a few times for (very good and strong) cocktails a few times and to listen to the lovely jazz on a Sunday afternoon so when my parents decided to visit London I made a reservation for us to dine here on the Sunday.

The dining room takes up about half the floor space, but doesn't cram diners in despite being a bit tight for space (and popular!). Prices are on the high side for the area but the food is very good and you soon realise that you are paying for great cooking and ingredients. I had the dover sole which was cooked to perfection but you did need to order a side (I think it was £16 on its own to give you an idea of the prices here). The other members of the party really enjoyed their food. We had some really lovely deserts, I had a chocolate sharing plater with another member of the party and that was really fantastic! Wine list is medium length and caters for all tastes, the cocktails are great if you are in the mood for those too.

Great spot if you feel like having great British cooking locally and are happy to pay a little more for the experience. As mentioned they have lovely jazz music live on a Sunday too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and excellent food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A welcoming pub with a warm atmosphere and attractive decor. Great food, as always. Lovely, friendly staff and good service. Cocktail options transform dinner at the local to a more glamorous affair.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellence in South London”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want really excellent pub food south of the river, try The Crooked Well, just behind Camberwell Green. We were only going for a lunchtime snack (they do great snacks) but the menu looked so interesting that we opted for Fish Pie for Two. We were warned that it would take 30 minutes and so decided on a starter to keep us going. Generous helpings of Gravadlax were home cured, succulent and served with absolutely delicious home-made bread. The Fish Pie was a triumph. Creme Brulee was splendid also. We weren't drinking so I can't tell you about wines and beers but the strength of the place lies in the excellence of its ingredients which suggests they will have got the drinks right too. I can't wait to go back on an evening when I am drinking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly staff, great atmosphere.
Did a great job of catering for our two small children (kids' food options are good and pretty cheap).

Helpful?
Thank Shadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Well also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Crooked Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing