We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gastro pub with excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crooked Well

The Crooked Well
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crooked Well is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,904 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: new owners good food in bit of London off beaten track
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gastro pub with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a very good dinner here. A large airy dining room with plenty of space between tables. Helpful and friendly staff. The menu is very varied and has much more on it than the average gasropub. We had delicious crab salad. Steaks slightly overdone but tasty. Fish was very good.Good selection of wine at all prices. We had a relaxed dinner and will certainly return again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    71
    20
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“table for 11 Fri 1st June”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very simple Food, Wine and Service was 5 star. To deliver such exceptional meals for 11 was great. Try the fish pie for 2. (The special, Chateaubriand cooked to perfection.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COLIN f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great promise - but not quite there yet...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

It's a great space, it's pretty good value, fantastic drinks and the meal started well with a fabulous Scotch Egg. (For me at least.)

Service was attentive (to begin) without being overbearing and the wine list has great choice at pretty good prices.

Then came the lamb for two. Looked great - but was really just OK. And suddenly, from about 930pm, the service that had been good just stopped. Nothing. No offers of drinks or, as far as I recall, dessert. No offer of coffee. Weird. The staff were still around but were focussed on - I think - clearing up to make sure they were out at closing time.

Don't think I'll bother eating there again but it's certainly a decent pub... Maybe go there early to try food and see if the service levels can be sustained.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Springburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenAries, Manager at The Crooked Well, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
We were very upset to read that you received, or not as the case be, this kind of service. Please be assured that I have printed off this feedback and spoken with all the staff. This is absolutely not the service we usually provide, and I have no idea why we did on your particular visit. And I'm sorry you did not enjoy the Lamb. Perhaps if you had been properly looked after we could have sorted that for you on the night. Please do get in touch with me directly.
Kind Regards
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub and restaurant in the heart of Camberwell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a great posh pub with amazing food right in the middle of Camberwell. Staff are friendly and attentive but not overtly pushy or annoying, the food is fantastic with them making the most of seasonal produce. The whole place has a great vibe about it and the people who work there are clearly happy in their jobs. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skinseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great addition to South East London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Read a few reviews so had high expectations- and they didn't disappoint.

Started with an Earl grey Martini- which went down very well. starter was a massive Scoth Egg. This must have been one big chicken.

Mains was a steak- brazilian cut (even though I think it was Argentinian) but who cares? Aided and abetted by several glasses of Malbec.
By the time i got to dessert I shouldn't have ordered the Almond cake- as this was a dish too far; but I left very happy.

Hope that when they open their 2nd restaurant they do so in East Dulwich/ Forest Hill

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wazzaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Well also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Crooked Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing