We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roganic - CLOSED

Roganic
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: The sister restaurant of critically acclaimed L'Enclume in the Lake District, Roganic is owned by Simon Rogan and Penny Tapsell. Blending superb cooking techniques with immaculately sourced ingredients, Roganic brings the very best of contemporary organic cuisine to the capital. In upmarket Marylebone, Roganic is a contemporary 2-year popup restaurant showcasing innovative British culinary creations.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked Roganic for an anniversary dinner as me and my husband loved the look of Simon Rogan's food when he cooked on the Great British Menu. When we arrived there was only one other table in the restaurant which meant that it was completely devoid of any atmosphere. It took a while for anyone to come and take our drinks order which was a bit of a let down. The food was brilliantly presented, but not eery dish delivered the flavour explosion we were expecting - maybe our expectations were too high. Some of the food was really ingenious but it didn't quite hit all the buttons for us I'm afraid and for the amount it costs, we were expecting something really spectacular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WattyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    8
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Been meaning to trying Roganic for a while.The food is truly excellent, innovative and clever. The chicken golden "egg" will be hard to forget. And the Xmas tree milkshakes was remarkable.

So the food is excellent. What else? Cost so so... I think it's a bit overpriced. Especially with the current offerings in London.

The only thing that I found disappointing was the atmosphere. The place is small and quiet. There was no music playing and conversations carried through the room. Easy to fix, surprised me really.

So overall I can only recommend the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had lunch here and had the 3 course menu , which came with two wines. The portions are small, but the flavours are amazing and was really 6 courses with all the little amuse bouchée and palate cleansers. It was a real experience and incomparable with any other restaurant I have been to. The service was prompt and knowledgeable staff made it a memorable occasion. For £35 a head it was certainly worth it. It can't wait to come back to try the 6 course (and even 10 course) menu. Unlike many foodie places it caters brilliantly for vegetarians. Book up soon as it is only here for another 6 months, and it is very small.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzandury518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning food beautifully presented.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Took the 6-course tasting menu. Every dish was a work of art, combining unusual ingredients - all sourced in the UK, and many foraged or grown on the restaurant's own farm. This is now my favourite restaurant and I can't wait to go back again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hedonist0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend a meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A very personal experience, all the staff look after you and really explain what it is that you are eating. The flavor of the food is amazing and the paungof ingredients too.

Definitely worth a visit, especially as its a pop up restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panchganite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roganic also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing