We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Fun and very informative, with expert tuition.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hashi Cooking

Hashi Cooking
Ranked #19 of 145 Classes & Workshops in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fun and very informative, with expert tuition.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a fantastic day, learning all about Sushi and Japanese cuisine. We arrived knowing nothing but left feeling that we could confidently prepare an authentic Japanese meal.
Reiko's relaxed approach helped make the learning experience very enjoyable. We will be putting our new skills to good use. Thank you Reiko.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PQ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    1
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woldingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Famtastics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a superb day at the hashi cooking making sushi and sashimi, the hours flew by and what we created with the expert help of Reiko was the best we had ever tasted. From now on we will make our own sushi from scratch.
We will be back for more cooking very soon

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fun and informative sushi and sashimi class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was one of the best days (or rather four-and-a-half hours) out we've had in a long time. First of all, our host-cum-teacher Reiko, was a class act: knowledgeable, hospitable, passionate, patient, humourous and a great communicator. And on the evidence of our class (sushi and sashimi making) she is also a very good chef.

You get background information on the basic ingredients (and where/how to buy them), how to cook sushi rice (this is vital) and preparation. This is an interactive course, so you get to make sushi rolls, california rolls, compressed sushi and Japanese omelettes - all of which is great fun.

Reiko also prepares some delicious sashimi and miso soup and everyone gets to sit down and eat this, as well as the nigiri and sushi we'd prepared earlier (washed down with some warm sake).

£110 sounds like a lot to pay for a sushi and sashimi class but it's good value for what you get, and get out of it. You also leave with a starter pack and other goodies (cookbooks, omelette pans, moulds, etc) are available for purchase.

Let me assure anyone thinking of attending one of Reiko's classes or courses... go for it!

We will be returning for another course!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sushi Made Easy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

As soon as you walk through the door Reiko makes you feel completely at ease. I came alone as it was a present from my wonderful boyfriend as I have eaten sushi for many years and had always wanted to make it!
Reiko is clearly passionate about what she does and this is reflected in everything she explains and shows you. The pack with all the additional information was an added bonus (insiders secrets). I had the most fabulous time and took away so much that I am no longer afraid of trying it myself (as well as a very full belly)..... The quality of the fish she uses is second to none and I tried for the first time ever....butterfish....yum yum!
Thank you Reiko for a wonderful experience and it comes highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dumpling heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

An excellent two-hour class with Reiko has kindled a deep interest in Japanese food. She is a delightful hostess and highly experienced and knowledgeable teacher. The small class (6 in our case) ensures that Reiko can talk you through and demonstrate every detail of the process, including exactly how to fashion beautiful dumplings - harder than it seems! And to crown it all the class ends with a substantial and highly convivial meal comprising both sorts of dumplings that we ourselves had made, plus a wonderful soup based on dashi - and a glass of wine. Reiko is a true expert, consummately professional and I can't wait for another chance to return to her kitchen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusanSturrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashi Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Hashi Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing