We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and very helpful friendly staff”
Review of Sapori Sardi

Sapori Sardi
Ranked #681 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loosely translated as ‘Sardinian flavours’, this cosy family-run newcomer on Fulham Road nails its regional colours to the mast with a menu that highlights the island’s rustic specialties and native produce. Come here for bowls of spaghetti laced with bottarga (dried mullet roe), malloreddus ‘gnocchi’ with sausage ragù and pecorino or monkfish wrapped in Sardinian air-dried ham (served with sautéed courgettes, chilli and mint). The kitchen also knocks out its share of trattoria staples, from grilled calamari with tangy salmoriglio dressing to seafood risotto and calf’s liver with butter and sage.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value and very helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Easy to book, easy to find (just near Putney Bridge tube) and great value for money. The owner Gul was lovely, very welcoming and helpful. It was a very hot day but the rear of the restaurant was very cool and inviting. The place is quite small and I imagine it can get pretty packed of an evening. The waiter's English wasn't great and there were occasional misunderstandings but the food was great and very reasonably priced.
And the icing on the cake? I left my raincoat behind (it was raining when I left home) which was a bit of a problem as I was only in London for the day and had no plans to go back anytime soon. No problem - I emailed Gul and she posted it back to me immediately!! Now that's what I call service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aniQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    112
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is very much becoming a regular haunt, not because it is local to me but because it is exceedingly good. The welcome is friendly, the service attentive but not overbearing and the food, my the food is just terrific. I will bang on until the cows come home about the prosciutto with the delicious creamy pecorino, you simply have to have it and the tagliolini, speck, porcini mushrooms in truffle oil is every bit as good as previous reviews insinuate: quite, quite lovely. This time we had cutlets and liver as a main course but to be frank you could choose from the menu with your eyes closed and be surprised and delighted with anything. I simply cannot fault this place and hope to revisit time and time again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selkie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but nothing special”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We didn't booked and we were happy that a table could be found however we were sitting in a corner and a bit squeezed. The menu was quite standard with the same dishes you see everywhere but with generous portion and tasty, even if you have to add salt to each dish. Service was good and friendly but definitely a bit amateurish. Overall a good experience but just for a relaxed evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful little gem serving great regional Italian food from Sardinia”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recommend this beautiful little gem to all those who want to go a step further and try some real 'regional' Italian food from the beautiful island of Sardinia.

I visited Sapori Sardi with a friend from Sardinia (!!) and we loved it! Wonderful food prepared by the very friendly chef and owner Piero, warm welcoming by his lovely wife and friendly staff, professional service, lovely atmosphere, and affordable prices.

Certainly a place to remember and to visit again, there are so many dishes yet to be tasted!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsysimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The menu combines traditional and creative touches of Italian cooking, The execution is dependable. The service can get slow when the place is busy (testament to dishes being made to order) but it is always friendly and helpful. Definitely one of the best restaurant options in the Putney Bridge area of Fulham.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapori Sardi also viewed

 

Been to Sapori Sardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing