We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere”
Review of Jose Tapas Bar

Jose Tapas Bar
Ranked #388 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First of all: it's a tapas bar, not a restaurant - and as such it is absolutely great. Was there around lunchtime on a Thursday, which I think is the time to go to this place - as can't really imagine going there for an evening meal...

That little detail aside, the food is fresh, nicely cooked and well presented, staff friendly and attentive, and the lunch hour buzz is really something special! The Alhambra beer they serve from the tap is really lovely, too - in case you're not in the mood for wine.

Summing up - will certainly be back for more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    133
    33
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night with my wife. First the negatives:

Too hot and uncomfortable inside
2 of the dishes weren't great, particularly the prawn tempura which was recommended for us
Would expect to see Spanish people serving and working at the bar, or at least people who spoke the language

Now the positives:

The prawn and chilli croquettes were a knockout - superb! And the tortilla was pretty good too.
Staff were friendly and helpful, if a little bit stressed (not surprising given the heat in there)
The atmosphere was v buzzy. The food is cooked in front of you.
Reasonable value for money. We ate pretty well and had a couple of beers each for around £37.

Overall, would love to go here on a Tuesday evening in the winter and sit at the bar and drink some sherry. Unfortunately on a Friday night in the summer it all felt a little uncomfortable. I was gasping for air after an hour standing in the corner..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai Mueang, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food, wine and atmosphere all complimented each other magnificently”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This small restaurant down a quieter street of London feels like an escape from the tourist chain restaurants with a refreshingly talented chef and employees passionate about the food, it has a feel of being in the chef's living room in a way - but by no means does this bring down its cleanliness or fine decor. We were given excellent recommendations although I am sure we would not have been disappointed with any dish. The extensive wine list is full of refreshing, organic, flavoursome options. The portions are perfect and you can keep ordering more as the evening progresses so don't worry if you are unsure what to start with.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherinedeGara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Tapas”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great food and drinks in a very nice atmosphere. I'ts a very small bar and was extremely busy when we went but they found us a corner fairly quickly. The tapas were very authentic and delicious. Just how it should be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas with a lunch time buzz”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here for lunch. My girlfriend lived in Spain for a few years and likes tapas so thought we would give this a try.

The place was packed when we arrived but we managed to get two seats at the bar. The buzz in the place created a great atmosphere.

The staff were quick, but friendly. It was really busy. The food arrived quickly and tasted great. The patatas bravas was the best i've tasted. Despite sharing only 5 tapas, both of us were full by the end.

The prices were also very reasonable. I would definately recommend this place, but prepare to wait for a seat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ATG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Tapas Bar also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Jose Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing