We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jose Tapas Bar

Jose Tapas Bar
Ranked #211 of 21,593 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Southwark
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Jose is a really good restaurant - a bit of a squeeze to get into, and the staff can be moody but in a good way - but they've really capitalised on the fact Brindisa in Borough were becoming shoddy and there was a need for a new Tapas bar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mukul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    125
    29
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Food and staff amazing. Wine list a bit short but with a selection of interesting wine, from Spain of course :) the plaice is quite small and you have to wait a bit in a busy day but is really worth it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArwenLuthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Would go back here weekly (or alternate with Pizarro down the road). Great food, great wine list, great atmosphere. Love the croquetas and the fact that they change all the time (along with the blackboard menu). It's worth trying all of the wines on the list. Desserts are fantastic too if you have the room (particularly like the rice pudding).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thaifishcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“amazing tapas bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

everything tastes so good there i dont even know where to start.
when i go share like 6/8 tapas with a friend, service and fast so you can order more if still hungry. the place is small and crowded, there are no proper tables, but you can sit on stool, no so cosy, but very relaxed atmosphere.
on sunday @ 3pm its more quiet so i like to go at this time.
anyday after work for a drink and some nibbles too - they have a good selection of spanish wines.

very very good place, 5 min from london bridge station.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special memory in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hubby and I came across this tapas bar purely by chance. After spending most of the day in the Southwark Area visiting sights such as Tate Modern ,Shakespeare's Globe Theatre and the Golden Hinde, we headed for the Fashion & Textile Museum in Bermondsey Street on a miserably cold and rainy day. Without notice, the Museum was closed. Feeling totally disappointed after such a long walk, we saw what we thought was a pub in the street corner and as it was late afternoon, we needed a coffee to warm up.

The place was quite busy but we found two bar stools along the window in a cosy corner. A friendly waitress saw us struggling with our coats on our laps and informed us that we could hang our heavy coats on these handy hooks under the high bench (which was quite a novelty for us folks from a hot climate). We then noticed the scrumptious-looking tapas that were being served to everyone around us and having scanned the blackboard offerings, we decided to stay for early dinner.

Our charming waitress gave us some fabulous recommendations . Food was uncomplicated but made with the best ingredients and all tasted divine! We ended up tasting quite a selection of tapas and sampled quite a few glasses of red wine!! Service was attentive despite being so busy and the atmosphere had such a buzz. We had a wonderful time there and it was like being transported to La Boqueria in Barcelona for a couple of hours whilst resting our weary feet in South London.

The bill was not the cheapest but this place was such a special and accidental find for us, it really didn't matter so much at the end of our last day in London Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Armchairtraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Tapas Bar also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Jose Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing