We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills quality hotel with eager staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis London Stratford
Ranked #474 of 1,086 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No frills quality hotel with eager staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked this Ibis hotel due to the location at Stratford and from previous knowledge of
an hotel chain know for affordable 2/3 star hotels. It did not disappoint. It was clean. and looked
refurbished. I was enthusiastically welcome at reception and offered champagne as advertised on signing up for the VIP rate and did get the promised voucher to allow shopping at nearby Westfield mall. Would hardly use it, but nice gesture indeed. There is a Nandos restaurant just under the hotel and the Stratford underground and international train station is within walking distance. Rates you get vary depending on time of booking but I got a decent rate and good value. Breakfast is standard full English breakfast with a tea and coffee machine. I'll use it again.
Ibis hotels are simple and functional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis London Stratford. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    371
    164
    52
    33
See reviews for
106
294
88
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for the week while working at the Olympic Village so I didn't pay my company did. Perfect location in my view for work and plenty of places to eat right under your nose. The reception and bar area were being refurbished while I was there so no bar and only limited breakfast options available, but wasn't disturbed by any noise from the builders.
Room was pleasantly comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis London Stratford. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and disappointed in the standard of this hotel.

Being in the heart of Stratford and charging at the mid range I expected a lot more.

Firstly booked online only to reach the reception desk to say they couldn't find my booking. Took a while to find only to be told that due to system problems the payment had not gone through. Took a while to get sorted so not a smooth process.

Then went to the room only to be presented with 3 or 4 massive stains on the carpet. No good enough.

Apart from the stains the air con unit was not much use and this left the room stuffy and humid. You can open the window but noise outside is too much.

Then the toilet.. What a racket when you flush. I'm sure we woke up everyone in the hotel each time we flushed.

Need to raise their standards.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roni2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Stratford. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on h3099-gm@accor.com to discuss this further . Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel OK with bits of the room pretty tired. The hotel menu was very limited. The location is not good for a solo traveller as there is nowhere I felt safe to walk to in the evening and only a Nandos directly underneath. I would not have wanted to go there on my own in that area. Difficult to find as it is through a shopping centre (not the big Westfield one). Good if you need to be in that area and good transport links. I didn't think it was worth the rates charged.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank highland_lass_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Ibis London Stratford. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ibis London Stratford. Kind Regards, Funmi Onafeko, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is exactly what it says on the tin....a budget hotel with no frills. Check in was slow and we were given two rooms overlooking the road. Unfortunately, in one of the rooms the toilet didn't flush and had constant running water. Upon inspection by one of the staff we were promptly moved to another room overlooking a Morrison's supermarket. All was fine until about 11.30pm, when a large lorry noisily arrived to make a delivery. For the next three hours there was constant banging and rattling, together with shouting and some swearing. I breathed a sigh of relief when the lorry eventually left and I managed to grab a couple of hours sleep. Unfortunately, that was all the sleep I was going to have, as yet another lorry arrived and was duly unloaded!! Changing rooms in the middle of the night was not an option, especially as we had already shifted everything once. My son, who was still in a room overlooking the road, said his room was fine and he managed to get a good night's sleep. The rooms themselves are basic but clean.

Another downside is that there is no car parking near to the hotel and we had to park at The Westfield Shopping Centre which was a good 10/15 minute walk away, although at £5 for 24 hours, was good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room at the front overlooking the road and not at the back overlooking Morrison'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis London Stratford. I was sorry to read that you found your room noisy. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. The team are available 24 hours a day and are always available to help. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The IBIS Stratford was a complete rip-off. But we had just travelled 11 thousand miles and needed to get a bed. Almost everything about the IBIS was terrible...most of all value for money...We were grossly overcharged and gossly underprovided for. The room was tiny.There wasn't even a box of tissues in the room. Or any toiletries. Or a fridge..or a safe. The aircon didn't work properly, you had to pay to watch terrestrial TV. When we asked to keep our milk in their fridge they refused. To top it all. they were undergoing renovation and the reception was a building site. The emergency exit was propped open all the time we were there. People stood there to smoke. When it came to us leaving it was closed. I asked if I could use it to take my luggage to the car park and was told "sorry but it is for emergencies only" and for this hellish experience we paid 113 pounds per night!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Stratford .I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and our main priority during the refurbishment was to minimise any disruption to our guests. Please feel free to email me on h3099-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#374 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Epsilon Hotel
#589 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#551 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Stratford

Property: Ibis London Stratford
Address: 1A Romford Road | Stratford, London E15 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#91 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in East London, the newly refurbished Ibis London Stratford is minutes away from Stratford station and offers easy access to Canary Wharf, ExCel centre, the O2 and Central London (20 min by tube).The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour bar and snack menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Stratford Hotel London
Hotel Ibis London
Accor London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing