We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a buzzy delight”
Review of Cay Tre Soho

Cay Tre Soho
Ranked #2,948 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Our modern Vietnamese restaurant in Soho emulates busy Vietnamese life, serving classic pho and aromatic street food.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a buzzy delight”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Great service and vibe at this buzzy Soho eatery. Highly recommend the monkfish entree for two which is cooked at your table. Try the slow cooked beef cheeks too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pendooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    185
    95
    38
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Beef Pho of my life!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was greasy, and i'm not even sure the beef was beef! My colleague found a beetle in hers!!! It was £9 for a takeaway. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 83BethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good variety on menu”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have eaten here a few times - I like Vietnamese food, but am not as experienced with it as I am with Thai food. But I like the range of dishes they have on the menu - it makes a little more of an adventure! Particularly liked the salt & pepper chilli squid. And the DIY pancakes. Good strong tastes and always seems pretty healthy. Service can be a little slow in the evening but always been fine at lunch. Always busy so has a good buzz to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cemeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for a quick Lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have been there few times now as I really like their Umami taste. Beef Pho there is one of the best I have ever had - through it depends on the day whether you get plenty of beef slices! Papaya salad is quite spicy and garlicky but full of flavour and really good balance of ingredients - recommended. Spring rolls there are freshly cooked and tasty - I love deep fried one that is always crunchy and full of veggies with sweet dipping sauce. They have £10 for a 2 course lunch(till 5pm) as well as rice with one dish. This is far superior to Son Que in Kingsland - stylish, reasonable and yummy. Good for a quick lunch / early supper in Soho as it opens all day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetatemodern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, shocking service - so just like being in Vietnam”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Eaten here a few times now, and whilst I always like the food, the service is never great.

Unlike other Vietnamese places in London, I really like the variety of food on offer. I always find it good value and very tasty.

However the service is always poor and slow and I always joke to the people I'm with that its just like being back in Vietnam!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cay Tre Soho also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Cay Tre Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing