We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not liked”
Review of Cay Tre Soho

Cay Tre Soho
Ranked #2,962 of 23,025 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Our modern Vietnamese restaurant in Soho emulates busy Vietnamese life, serving classic pho and aromatic street food.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not liked”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited just after New Year, during weekday. Nice restaurant and staff, shame about food choices and quality. We found it tasteless, bland and not seasoned well. Ordered La Vong grilled fish, only the herbs were tasty, fish looked yellow and were not season at all, the dip was diluted sugared water with drops of fish sauce. The chilli salt & peppered soft shell crab, were so salty almost inedible.
The typical Beef and rice noodle soup "Pho" should have been stewed with oxtails, 5 spice, cinnamon and grilled ginger, it tasted like stock cubes dissolved in hot water. My partner had a Saigon Sate Pho, more like rice stick noddles cooked in peanut sauce. We like Vietnamese foods, but this take the biscuit. Avoid and don't bother to try.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PIY-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    188
    95
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasted good at the time...”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stopped in here while looking for something different in Soho for lunch- lured in by their '£10 set menu'- which turned out the be £14.50 by the time I left. I ordered straight from the set menu but was told that rice was extra...so I ordered rice. The food was nice- a bit too spicy but good- but the rice I paid £2.50 for was old and hard and when I asked for a replacement I was told 'they are all same'. Hmm. Maybe that's why I've had an dodgy tummy for the past few hours? The service was okay until it got a bit busier- then, as a single diner, I got forgotten. The second kick was the service added to the bill- taking my '£10 set lunch' up £4.50 including tap water (free) and old rice. There was a table of very loud women in the middle of the restaurant which made the atmosphere for everyone else a bit tense and the experience not as nice as it could have been- not the restaurant's fault I know- but obviously it had a fall-on effect. Not sure I would return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auntietrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food in Soho”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This busy, little restaurant was fairly newly opened when we went. The decor was fresh and contempory. We ordered some old favourites for entree (rice paper rolls and a Vietnamese pancake) and were not disappointed. Typically light, fresh Vietnamese flavours. The mains were also good quality and we particularly liked the hangar steak clay pot and the stir fried ramen noodles. The staff were constantly on the move, but got the job done. Prices were reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic buzzing restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you want excellent Vietnamese food in a buzzing restaurant in Soho this is the place. Friendly and attentive staff, delicious food, cocktails and fresh ingredients.

I disagree with another posters comments on terrible service. Our experience was the service was excellent.

The one negative was 12.5% service added to the receipt. I thought the standard rate was 10% in the UK.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food but terrible service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went at about 8.30 on a Thursday and it was very busy. Have been to the one in Shoreditch and liked it. The food here was as good (although the crispy pork thing from the Shoresitch branch didn't seem to be on the menu) and pretty cheap but the service was abysmal. The food all arrived at different times, with starters and main courses just turning up in whatever order (although this might have been our fault because we ordered "small eats" as starters and maybe they're not supposed to actually be starters and they just thought we were weird for ordering more than one dish...). The drinks came long after the food and only when I reminded them. My "starter" didn't arrive at all (I didn't remind them becuase I was never sure that it wasn't on the way). Wouldn't be in a hurry to go back anyway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NdB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cay Tre Soho also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Cay Tre Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing