We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downhill after starters” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zengi Restaurant.

Zengi Restaurant.
Ranked #1,623 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Description: A cosy hideaway in Shoreditch, fusing eclectic flavours from across the Middle East with unique dishes brought to you from our Arabian kitchen. What better way to continue your journey with us but by enjoying shisha in our outside heated area and indoor E-shisha basement.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Downhill after starters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were received with a warm welcome although we were slightly dubious as to why the place was near empty on a Saturday night.
However the delicious starters made us think we were right to come here. Sadly we were not. The lamb tajine was bland and topped with what tasted like a can of tinned tomatoes, as was the lamb and pepper curry. We appreciate the spices are milder in this type of cuisine but there simply was no flavour. Keen to try everything we also ordered a Turkish pizza, big mistake, it tasted of nothing. Will not be coming here again, a pricey mistake.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlpacNPanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value and tasty Turkish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Opposite an Ibis Hotel.
Ordered two eggplant dishes starters plus two main portions enough for three people.
The starters were very tasty and the freshly baked Turkish bread was great at no added charge.
The yogurt drink was refreshing.
One main was a koffta with rice and salad the other chicken skewers with similar sides. Both freshly made and nicely presented not too spicy. We skipped desserts or coffee.
With a ten percent service charge and including one coke it was worth 36£.
We definitely return although a bit out of the way

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Italian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst service I have ever seen..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently went to Zengi for my birthday with my friends and was absolutely appalled by the service provided by the waitress, who was serving us. Aside from the fact that we were served a rock hard bun and there appeared to be no chicken on the baby chicken, a number of us ordered. The service itself, was the worst I have experienced in all my years, living in London. Despite making a reservation for 10, we arrived to only 8 plates on our table and had to ask for more. Not only this, but once she served the starter, she was in such a rush to clear the table, whereby most of us hadn't even finished. I politely asked her to wait, but she had no customer service skills and took it anyway. As it was my birthday, I didn't want to create a scene and ignored it. Not only this, after the mains were served, we requested a jug of water, which never showed up,despite us reminding her constantly. The feeling we received was like she couldn't be bothered and I was left feeling embarrassed. To sum it up, I wont be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice decor inside when we were seated downstairs food was amazing one of the best turkish restraunts I have been to in a while service was good will be coming again!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious evening meal with family. Service was warm and welcoming. Would recommend the Turkish Pizzas and Iraqi Kibbe, highlights among delicately spiced and tasty grilled meats. Will definitely return for great food, welcoming atmosphere. Good value too.

Helpful?
Thank CJandHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengi Restaurant. also viewed

 

Been to Zengi Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing