We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zengi Restaurant.

Zengi Restaurant.
Ranked #1,441 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Description: A cosy hideaway in Shoreditch, fusing eclectic flavours from across the Middle East with unique dishes brought to you from our Arabian kitchen. What better way to continue your journey with us but by enjoying shisha in our outside heated area and indoor E-shisha basement.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I found this place whilst researching cheap eats in the Aldgate area. This restaurant is 3 minutes walk from Aldgate East station. Ask to be seated downstairs where there are private alcove dining spaces. Middle eastern lamps and candles add to the ambience.

We shared a small mixed meeze to start. Delicious Boreg - cheese and parsley rolled in a filo pastry cigar. Kashk-e-Bademjan which is smoked aubergine blended with onion yoghurt and garlic, some houmous and a delicious blended dish of fava beans, tahini and garlic called Ful Mudammas. Also with more familiar dishes Tabbouleh salad and Dolma. This came with some freshly baked flat bread. We also enjoyed a bottle of crisp Lebanese white wine.

For our main course we shared a succulent chicken shish with fragrant rice and salad. Washed down with a second bottle of the wine! We finished our meal with a piece of devilishly sweet baklava.

An absolutely delicious meal which came to £70 for the two of us which is brilliant value for three courses and a second bottle of wine. I thoroughly recommend Zengi's and will be back very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First I found this restaurant near by my University, and we decided to explore it with my boyfriend, everything was amazing, food was sooo delicious, selection of cheap wines is really great, atmosphere and service were excellent , I already came back few times and always find it so attractive to come back over and over again, ohh, during the summer period I have noticed they introduced shisha acailable on the outside tables, however we ve been starving so were not abale to wait for a next seat outside, will definetely try it next time, we always go for a large selection of mezze platers and one main dish which a LOT for 2 people and cheap in comparison with all posh restaurants, must try it !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Begemotiiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and bargain prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Close to Mercure Hotel and Aldgate East tube this cosy restaurant was a real find. Service was excellent, a really helpful and friendly waitress could not have done more.
The food was served quickly and for the quality the price was very reasonable and the food seemed very authentic.
We had a starter of Heleb Kibbeh which I was told was a traditional Baghdad dish, fried rice and saffron shell filled with spiced mincemeat and grilled halumi followed by a grilled fish and their special of three different shish. Starters are around £4 with mains from £8. Most mains were under £10, the fish we had being the most expensive at £14.
Worth a try and at these prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyduckBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We stumbled upon a great find here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

At a loose end, the night before the Ride London cycle event, my mate and I were looking for something cheap and cheerful to eat in the East End and as outsiders were heading towards Brick Lane when we first came across the Prince Alice pub. So, we stopped off here for a swift pint or two in the 'beer garden' - ie on the pavement. From here just across the street was Zengi but from our angle appeared like a takeaway. So we thought, if we can get a quality kebab we'd be happy.

When we entered Zengi it was a complete surprise that we were actually in a restaurant - because we'd approached from a side street. We thought: "we're here now. We can't leave." Fortunately for us we didn't and we sat down to a proper meal. We were impressed by the quality of the food, service and value. From the best lentil soup we've tasted to a delicious lamb tangine and a healthy and scrummy grill of different meats with salad, we were impressed.

The bill was £16.00 each for two courses. We declined any more alcohol as we were in pre-event mode. Looking around the restaurant, and judging by the numbers of customers following us, we could tell we weren't the only people to recognise the Zengi's attraction. Thoroughly good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me & My husband went here during Ramadan to open our fast. When we booked our table over the phone, the host asked if it was Iftaar (to open our fast) to which i told him yes. Again, when we got there and were taken to our table he asked again, however, when it was time to order they took 30mins to come back to us and take our order, theyre was also nothing special for the iftaar, no dates even. So we found it abit strange to why they asked. When the food actually did come ( 10 mins after opening our fast with fanta) the food was as always amazing! The Chicken & Haloumi wrap is defs a winner, the Zengi burger was also tasty, but wasn't as good as what i was expecting, the fries were abit oily too. My husband wasn't fond of the lamp chops on this occasion however, on previous dinner dates they have been amazing!
Overall, our experience was abit mixed, food was tasty, however we were not amazed or even satisfied with the service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengi Restaurant. also viewed

 

Been to Zengi Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing