We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere, authentic and attentive waiting staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zengi Restaurant.

Zengi Restaurant.
Ranked #1,559 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Description: A cosy hideaway in Shoreditch, fusing eclectic flavours from across the Middle East with unique dishes brought to you from our Arabian kitchen. What better way to continue your journey with us but by enjoying shisha in our outside heated area and indoor E-shisha basement.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, authentic and attentive waiting staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

if you're in search of a tasty middle eastern restaurant in central london this is the place for you. We went for a friend's birthday last week and the mezze starter was enough for two people as a main! The food tasted great and was good value. Plus they gave us a couple of baklava on the house which was a pleasant surprise! Definitely worth a meal out, especially if you have a taste card (applies sunday-thursday)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crawf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good middle-east food in east London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

East London is currently mainly devoted to Indian (brick lane), traditional British (all around, in Spitalfields, red church st. and Columbia rd.) and some good Vietnamese (Old st. and Kingsland Rd), so Zengi stands distinctively in the general scenario. The staff is kind and the food is a good quality for the price. Don't expect a super traditional restaurant, the menu gives you options from different countries and has also some suitable to Vegetarians. mainly is meat, though.
You may have to wait a bit if it's busy but the staff will keep you updated about the waiting time.
I have read in other reviews that the quality of the food is not consistent.
I have been there several times throughout the last 3 years and always had a good dinner.
The ambience is nice, either at the street level viewing passers-by or downstairs where there are some private caves for small parties. Music may be a bit loud for someone, but it never prohibits to have a chat with friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaraCamerada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good and very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very good laid-back restaurant, which offers a mix of generic Middle Eastern food.
I eat occasionaly here at lunch. The food is very good and freshly prepared. A platter of 5 meze costs £10 and is a very good choice particularly if enjoyed with fresh mint tea.
Only problem, which is the downside of food freshly prepared, the service is quite slow particularly if there are a few customers in the restaurant. I think next time I will call, order and agree to go there 30 minutes later!
Anyway, highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

me and wife went to zengi and ordered mega mezza which was nice and filling ,, the staff where good and attentive ,, as for the lebanese wine they suggested was clean and crisp although i prefered chateaue musar but it was not on the menu ,,, after all we liked zengi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saman g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All round ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went to zengi with my girlfriend.

Without being amazing in anyway the food and service was ok and similarly the decor was alrite.

I'd go again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iyaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengi Restaurant. also viewed

 

Been to Zengi Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing