We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, let down by food”
Review of Aqua Nueva

Aqua Nueva
Ranked #1,328 of 22,842 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $104
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Epitomising destination dining at its very finest, Aqua Nueva sits on top of the former Dickens & Jones department store, opposite the London Palladium. With breathtaking views from the terrace, the restaurant is equally striking inside - a fabulously chic blend of contemporary styles is the setting for acclaimed Spanish cuisine. Tapas delicacies are presented with real artistic flair, and are perfectly matched with a choice of colourful cocktails from the talented mixologists. Aqua Nueva, with its unmatched ambience and flair, has attracted widespread critical acclaim, and attracts celebrity diners regularly.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great venue, let down by food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Attended a company event here. Our company has corporate events 2-3 times a year here, but on this occasion was let down by the food.
We had a set menu, choice of 3 items per course.
I ordered lobster and crab ravioli for starters which came in a black gloop. Was told it was squid ink but very off putting. Had lamb cutlets for main and can honestly say they were the fattiest cut of lamb Ive ever eaten, greasy after taste.
Would not recommend for large party or corporate dining. Maybe a one off as our company does use this venue often and this is the first disaster. Maybe better as a personal dining experience. We were also placed at the far end of the restaurant which killed any ambience

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    101
    59
    27
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chefs much better than the waiting staff”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I wasn't the only person saying how cool the welcome was, but people equally insulted said the food is good so don't worry.
The food is good. But it is Japanese so useful to know that before you go.
However it is Japanese Japanese, so if you like really good Japanese food you will be well in here., However if you are looking for a Sushi Samba type fusion experience you will be disappointed.
Beautiful room and view.
Lunch time price just about right for a posh restaurant serving good food.
At around £30 per head it was just right any more would have been too much and any less very good value.
I think if you are going to have waiters who speak poor English it is better to keep them quiet or employ ones who do. I am surer I got the wrong end of the menu explanation which i understood better before it was explained.
I guess if the welcome had been warmer so would my review be.
For a central London location well worth a try and good value..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class Evening”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Firstly I am surprised Aqua Nueva is not ranked higher. Recommended by a colleague and we were not disappointed.The Service and Food were first class.We loved the bar and cocktail list.
I dis agree with some reviewers who find it over priced. Its a Chic London restaurant! Our only disappointment was the atmosphere , but we did start early and leave just as the beautiful crowd were getting into full swing. (Saturday 6pm-10pm). We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASBOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Went for drinks”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Met a few friends here for drinks before a meal... Service was great... Atmosphere is very slick... Bar manager was great at suggesting new and different cocktails....
We never ate but the food looked amazing

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaljBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“superb food”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

As a lover of Spanish food I was really looking forward to visiting this place with work but I was also slightly disappointed to find out that we would be having a set lunch with choices limited to 3 dishes per course.
I needn't have worried as this must go down as one of, if not the most, delicious Spanish meals I have ever had.
I've got no idea how much it cost and I don't care as food of this quality will have me returning many times in the future.
What a find !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2housty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Nueva also viewed

 

Been to Aqua Nueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing