We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn down….”
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyde Park Suites
Ranked #487 of 874 Specialty Lodging in London
Lasne, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Worn down….”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Broken, worn down, expensive. Barely a Hotel, Strongly advise NOT to use either the Hotel or the company helping out with the booking! So, looking for Hotels in London next time, avoid this one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Weg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    226
    218
    158
    177
See reviews for
230
250
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I couldn't write a worse review for a hotel. The best part was that the lights turned off and allowed us to escape the reality.
We showed up at the hotel in the evening thinking all out walking was over, we were informed by the person at the desk that we would have to walk a block down because our room was located in another building across the street kind of a drag because we were really tired, but it really wasn't a big deal. We walk into the building to signs about protecting our valuables because "Thieves work in this neighborhood" Once inside the place looked dead and beat. Someone remodeled the place in the early 90's and it must have been nice then, but it just looked used up now. The halls were eerie in the way they looked run down. Inside the building we never saw anyone...we could have been the only ones there. Once inside our room we were pretty disappointed at the condition of the rooms. There was two old mattresses on the floor with kind of fresh sheets that we found hairs on....which I guess makes them no so fresh. It smelled funky in the room as well.
To top it off at night someone tried coming into our room. On two different occasions someone tried opening our door between the hours of 1am-4am.

This place is rundown, eerie, and feels a bit unsafe. There are better places in London, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms in person before paying for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielandRosali... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed there for 5 days.

pros:
*close to tube
* close to bus station which takes you directly to Oxford stree
* you have your own kitchen so you can make your own food.
* warm when you have both radiators on
* safe
* free WI-FI


cons:
* rooms is small for two people and we were upgraded. I cannot imagine what other rooms are like
* broken bathroom tiles
* nowhere to put soap or shampoo in the shower other than on the floor.
* the room is filthy. Full of dust and appears not to have been cleaned.
* the only thing they do is change the towels. The garbage stays in, the sheets are the same ones and you have to wait over an hour if you need anything such as toilet paper.
* the window does not close well, you can see the curtains moving due to the draft coming through the window
* no hot water early in the morning.
* uncomfortable beds

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASABLANCA
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

i advise evrybody to avoid even look to the pictures of this ...., who are by the just fakes, i booked with my wife a new year week in that hotel superior studio, well ,its horrible, a room bearly bigger than the bed , who by the way ,was brook , the matress totaly inconfortable,i got to take pain killer after few nights, hear dryer brook, no internet and when with chance it work ,totaly slow need 3mn to open 1 page,the wall with holes evrywhere , humidity infiltration , after 3 days they decide finaly to change the towels , nobody cleaned or take the garbige after a week, , we even was hearing the neebourg snoring,SO ADVISE DONT THINK EVEN ABOUT THIS HOTEL TAKE HOSTEL AND U WILL SAFE UR MONEY AND HEALTH

Room Tip: no one, all the rooms are horribles , i spoke wih others persons , and they had same opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Overall, this was a very nice place to stay. It was clean and conveniently located one block from a tube station and near a small grocery store and pharmacy. On our last day, we had afternoon tea at the Orangery at Kensington Palace which was just a short ten minute walk from the hotel. There were also many restaurants around the station. As one poster commented, the location of your apartment will most likely not be where the registration desk is located. This was not a problem for us as we did read the reviews and our apartment was only three townhouses away. Not a far walk at all. The entrance and hallway had nice wallpaper and clean carpeting. The lights in the main entrance and stairs are operated by motion sensors.

Only a few negatives. First, small cosmetic fixes would help the overall appearance. The curtains were torn at the bottom. There were many scratches on the walls from luggage most likely. The futon which would could have turned into an extra bed was not properly propped up and locked in place. In fact, it was broken so as you sit on the futon, the back would slowly slide down and you would have to constantly prop it back up.

If more than one person is staying in the room, you must take quick showers because there was only 75 liters of hot water available. We found this out the hard way. I took a nice long shower the first morning and by the time my husband used it, all the hot water was gone. You will see in the closet that there is a very small tank.

Our window faced the front of the street so we had a nice view. It was quiet and we felt the neighborhood was extremely safe even at night. If you had problems walking up stairs, this may not be the place for you. When told our apartment was on the second, they really mean the third floor. They count the first floor as the ground floor, then first, then second, etc.

Room Tip: The nearby Express Tesco had very limited groceries. Ask for a lower level room if you simply cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Rooms were very clean and comfortable if slightly hot from the radiators. Couldn't find out how to turn it down. As a suite it had a kitchen with all the necessary appliances Very convenient for Hyde Park and two underground stations. Staff helpful and friendly.
Plenty of nearby places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeteJacko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I strongly recommend against this hotel. I stayed here during a business trip along with several colleagues, and none of us were pleased with the experience.

My room was burglarized and several items, including my laptop, were stolen. The hotel staff's response was laughable at best, and strongly indicated that this is a common occurrence to which they've resigned themselves. No offer was made to reimburse for the stolen items, nor was I offered an alternate room following the incident. I ultimately booked a room at a nearby and unrelated hotel, at my expense.

Beyond that, several of the rooms had no hot water, and none of the rooms received the wifi provided by the hotel. After about 9pm, many untrustworthy individuals milled about in front of the buildings and on their stoops.

The entire place had the feel of a cheap hostel, not a hotel of any meaningful quality.

On the whole, our experience with this particular hotel was exceedingly poor to the point of being downright horrid; the accommodations were a major complaint from all who were part of this trip and significantly detracted from our stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central Park Hotel
#864 of 1,069 in London
2,662 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#511 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Troy Hotel
#609 of 1,069 in London
550 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#597 of 1,069 in London
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Suites

Property: Hyde Park Suites
Address: 30 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #487 of 874 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyde Park Standard & Superior Apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Suites London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing