We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accommodation”
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyde Park Suites
Ranked #511 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed December 23, 2011

On arrival the staff attended to us, but were not overly friendly. They curtly advised us there would be no cleaning or chamber maid service while we were there. They didn't let us know there would be clean towels provided, but fortunately this did happen!

The room was as the pictures showed, however a little worse for wear. The sofa bed, which we needed, was a little uncomfortable and so you wouldn't want to spend a long time sleeping on it.

There was only minimal crockery and cutlery - and I mean only minimal, two of each to be precise. Too bad if there was three of us! We had to ask twice for a plug for the kitchen sink and had to go and ask for toilet paper, and there was no tea towel provided to dry the dishes. The WiFi didn't work, however on request we did get a LAN cable to help us connect. Also the doorbell at the front didn't connect to the phone in the room - not so good if you were expecting visitors.

As we weren't spending a lot of time in the room, it was OK, but it was fairly small and would be a bit uncomfortable for three adults. There was also a bit of noise in the street late and night and this made sleeping a bit difficult. It was however very close to shops, restaurants, cafes and buses and trains. Also Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens are very close by.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishE200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 864 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked Hyde Park Suites as a base for the 8 weeks in London. What a disappointment. Reception staff unfriendly and off hand. Booking for a twin which had been confirmed 3 months prior was initially not available. Also advised that didn't have triple rooms as had been booked and that my 2 adult daughters would have to share a bed for last 4 weeks of our holiday.
First unit 26/11-13 was horrible. Double bed had been split to form twin beds. Found a dirty sock under bed as we moved them to fit into the tiny room. Front door didn't work so had to go through neighboring door to enter. Building undergoing renovations, carpet ripped up everywhere, smelling of paint. No lift. Had to carry luggage up 2 long flights of stairs. Room tiny, and bathroom old and leaking. Rooms extremely noisy. Could hear man snoring next door, people stamping above and doors being closed in neighbouring units. The noise from the street was extremely loud, not from traffic, but groups of people congregating outside at all hours, drinking and swearing. Had internal leak from unit above and water running down inside of our units wall. Was glad to leave. Only good point was free wifi and the location close to Bayswater and Queensway tube.
As we were due to stay in HPS for such an extended time made arrangements to cancel part of booking and stay elsewhere and to make extra trips elsewhere to at least have decent accommodation and get some sleep. Meant paying for double accommodation.
Unit 3a, 81-83, was a better unit on ground floor except that it was located next to front door which was slammed at all times. The noise from the front hall as people came and went meant that there was little sleep for us. The unit also ran out of hot water as the heating unit is shared with a neighboring Family unit. Cold showers on winter mornings not pleasant. Bed do not have mattress protectors.
Unit 12, 77-79. A Family unit, as now 3 of us travelling. Shower has own wall heater system. Water pressure virtually none existent and temperature fluctuates between hot and Cold. Mostly Cold.
We chose to cancel our accommodation at HPS for the Christmas week and try our luck elsewhere.
Not being able to enjoy returning to your accommodation at end of everyday or know that going to get a good night sleep has certainly put a dampener on what was supposed to be a wonderful time in London for Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidonie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Hyde Park apartment we rented for 5 nights was great. The apartment was in Inverness Tce midway between Bayswater and Queensway tube stations which are on different tube lines - a real bonus. Supermarket and Bank ATM within a stones throw and beautiful Hyde Park very close by. Reception is open 9am to 5am so arriving on a late plane is no hassle. Best to pay in cash as fee on credit card use. The bed was very comfortable and fresh towels delivered on 2nd day. The kitchen had everything required to self cater. Bathroom was small but good hot shower. It is not air-conditioned and there are no fans so with one window it would be hot in the middle of summer. There is an iron and small ironing board provided. It is very handy to central London as we often walked to Victoria Station through Hyde Park and down Grosvenor Pl. Against it, the apartment was very tired and there was a timber flooring panel missing on the kitchen floor, but the location to central London and the affordable price outweighed the negatives. We had to carry our bags up 2 flights of steps but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't believe marketing, read other travellers reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Having read many online reviews, it was with much aprehension that I entered my London flat. To my surprise, the room was as it had looked online. It was clean, had marble floors, a new kitchen and functional bathroom. I was less than 1 block walking distance from the office and the Hyde Park Tube. My flat was downstairs and warm. If you open the windows there are no screens but bars. I had the fan on all night and thus didn't have any problems with noise.

The hotel staff were friendly but seemed limited in their abilities to provide much concierge-like service. Location was convenient to bus and tube lines. There are great restaurants one block over. The street is one way and not very busy. I was very pleased with my choice and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My family and I stayed for 6 nights between July and August 2011. We were given a bigger room with cooking and laundry facilities on the ground floor. Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. The hotel was located in a very strategic location, close to shops and restaurants, hyde park and public transportations. Hotel staff were very helpful, polite and attentive. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay.
All facilities were available in the apartment, washing liquid was even provided! The night bus stops were conveniently located near the hotel and we enjoyed the late nights drives into Central London. The whole area was always bustling with life during the day and night, but quiet enough for good sleep ! Definitely a good choice for a great family holiday.

Room Tip: When making your booking, do mention what sort of room and which floor you prefer. Hotel has no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taning7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank estefaniasevilla93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Moana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#541 of 1,077 in London
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#613 of 1,077 in London
530 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#597 of 1,077 in London
735 reviews
Caring Hotel
#551 of 1,077 in London
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Suites

Address: 30 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $73 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyde Park Standard & Superior Apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Suites London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing