We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Manager at all costs”
Review of Angus Steakhouse

Angus Steakhouse
Ranked #1,681 of 22,822 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: At Angus Steakhouse we have over 50 years' experience in providing Londoners and visitors alike with finest steaks in town. Visit one of our branches and sample our prime Aberdeen Angus beef and see for yourself why we're world famous!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid the Manager at all costs”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had an excellent well cooked meal, served by a very happy, smiling waitress. The downside was the manager, my other half had gone to the men's room and was nearly knocked over on his return to our table, and whilst waiting for him I heard and saw the manager 'telling off' a member of staff, well out of order, he not only embarrassed the staff member but showed his man management skills were non-existent. Our waitress was subsequently brushed aside because the manager was in a rush to deal with something, and my other half said that's the ignorant *********** that nearly knocked me over! Upon leaving after having a really enjoyable meal hubby approached the manager to speak about his attitude and all he could say was "where were you sitting? I will sort this out, who complained?" The waitress at no time complained, these were our observations, Angus need to sort him out pretty quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brival2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    155
    94
    59
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You can try.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I ordered Angus fillet and my friend got chicken. Angus was between good and average. And chicken was alright. Price is too much for that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annoying loud (Italian) manager”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on sat the 22nd of June to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was good but the manager who was shouting and giving customers impression that he had no control over the restaurant and his staff has spoiled our evening. Why anybody need to shout across the restaurant and raise their voice to their staff to get a table ready. We are not interested about that. For me this is not a customer service that people are still standing by the table, just leaving and they escorting the next customers there. Table was not even ready. Could be done more discreetly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant- Good quality food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice restaurant- Good quality food
If you want a nice steak, go there: quality food is excellent, even if a little expensive.
Nice decor and atmosphere though

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariefranceMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Starving for a steak”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Welcomed by an effusive Italian Maitre D whose middle name was "hospitality" !
Service was prompt & steaks cooked as ordered. Bottle of red was fine, nothing exceptional, neither was the price. Ordered a salad which was really unnecessary, but healthy, & suitably fortified we re-entered the freezing outdoors. Total was UKP68 for two including the wine, not so bad for Central London where we had a window seat to observe the freezing throng of tourists.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angus Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Angus Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing