We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really good adaptation”
Review of Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
Ranked #223 of 1,633 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rock of ages is created by Elliot Davis and James Bourne. Running at the Garrick Theatre, this show stars Aaron Sidwell as Michael, Eliza Hope Bennett as Holly, Stewart Clarke as Eddie, Charlotte Harwood as Leia, Richard Lowe as Lucas, Lil Chris as Francis and Daniel Buckley as Marvin and more.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a really good adaptation”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

12 angry men is one of my favourite films and it was great to see such a high class production of it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    152
    56
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Twelve Angry Men - Super!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great play, enhanced by the superb actors, especially the legend that is Robert Vaughn being amongst them. Thoroughly enjoyable theatre experience, in lovely surroundings. Play easy to follow and brilliantly presented, with some good humorous moments. Would highly recommend; with The Garrick Theatre being situated near Covent Garden, Portrait and National Gallery etc. to make a great day out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beaniebaby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent show”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

12 angry men is well worth seeing. Great dramatic moments and quite a bit of humour too. Nice theatre not too big friendky staff lovelt decor. Very convenient for loads of buses, resraueants and tube.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Twelve Angry Men blew me away!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting London with my mom when we passed by a poster for this play starring Robert Vaughn, Martin Shaw and other famous faces. I had never seen a play before and honestly didn't think it would be something for me, but we went to see it and Oh. My. God. Not only was the script fantastic, but the acting was so natural and wonderful, it was like watching 12 actual jurors discussing their true feelings. We even sat in the restricted seats, and pretty much had a perfect view the entire time. What was also nice was to see a lot of young faces as well (kids, even) going to see this! And we happened to be outside when one of the actors passed, who stopped to talk to us, when all my mother did was thank him. Great people in a great show! I would have watched it ten times if I could! :D

Helpful?
Thank Ellenmarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,582 reviews
3,611 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,992 helpful votes
“Enjoyable performance of 12 Angry Men, nice seeing actor Robert Vaughn on stage”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We recently attended the performance of 12 Angry Men at the Garrick Theatre and quite enjoyed the venue and the show.

The Garrick Theatre was designed and built by Walter Emden and C. J. Phipps in 1888 and opened the year after. At one time it has seating capacity of 800 on four floors but has since been reduced to three floors and 656 seats. You can purchase show tickets directly at the ticketing booth as you enter the Garrick Theatre or at the TKTS booth at nearby Leicester Square for reduced price tickets.

The present performance held at the Garrick Theatre is '12 Angry Men' - a remake of the 1957 movie. We found the show true to the movie and enjoyable watch. The spinning set, offering a continuous shift in perspective for events occurring in the jury room. Acting was good all the way around and it was a treat seeing American actor Robert Vaughn on stage as one of the jurors.

Overall, 12 Angry Men was an entertaining performance that was enjoyable to watch in the historic Garrick Theatre house.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrick Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Garrick Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing