We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great show ok venue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
Ranked #226 of 1,570 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rock of ages is created by Elliot Davis and James Bourne. Running at the Garrick Theatre, this show stars Aaron Sidwell as Michael, Eliza Hope Bennett as Holly, Stewart Clarke as Eddie, Charlotte Harwood as Leia, Richard Lowe as Lucas, Lil Chris as Francis and Daniel Buckley as Marvin and more.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great show ok venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to see rock of ages. The Garrick is a nice theatre but the stench from the toilets was just disgusting. The show was amazing though

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    140
    53
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rock of Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fabulous show, very funny and great music. The Garrick is a compact Theatre which makes for great acoustics and atmosphere

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a beautiful theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Garrick is a fantastic venue. With a capacity of just over 600 it is a small, intimate venue so you never feel far away from the action on stage. The staff our friendly, although it did get a little bit annoying to have staff trying to sell drinks whilst the show was in progress. The Front of House areas were looking a little tired and could do with a bit of love and attention, but the auditorium itself was beautiful.

Great venue for a great show!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rock of Ages, an absolute must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my first ever visit to a theatre and indeed my first viewing of a musical.
Having now seen Rock of Ages I couldn't recommend a better first show for anyone to see.
There was a real atmosphere about the place and you really felt a part of what you were watching.
Although the seats were a little compact, and it does seem small at first, it only adds to the experience.
One little downside would have to be the back couple of rows of seating. Because of the balcony overhead if there is use of a big screen you'll only see the bottom half of it. Fortunately the rest of the stage is more or less viewable but try to avoid those rows if you can.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rock of Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Incredible!! Never been to a music as I've always been put off by the thought of folks prancing around and cheap looking sets..until this on Monday! I went with my fiance and a few friends and we loved every second of it. The singing, dancing, lighting, music and acting was flawless- the whole she-bang!

The theatre itself was cosy, comfortable and had great acoustics for the singers and some rocking 80s music. The staff were very helpful and the experience was tremendous, top marks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrick Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Garrick Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing