We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central London Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #188 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Central London Hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location and we were not disappointed. Victoria Station was around the corner. Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square and good pubs were all within walking distance. The Hop On Hop Off bus had a stop right near the hotel as well. The staff were fantastic. We booked into a standard double room, which was well appointed, but a bit small, so we opted for an upgrade to an executive room, which was really spacious. The Office Manager on at the time, Solari I think her name was, was so efficient and so helpful in organising this change for us. The atmosphere at the hotel was just what we expected from a hotel in London, classy, steeped in history and a beautiful old building. Taking afternoon tea there was a great experience, just soaking up the atmosphere. Breakfasts were really well done, with lots to choose from. Finally Miguel, one of the Concierges was so knowledgable about London, and so helpful. He is a great asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: The standard room was quite small, as it seems are most rooms in hotels in England. The executive ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I’m pleased you were not disappointed with your choice and will certainly share your feedback with Sonali and Miguel; its fantastic when team members are personally mentioned for their great service. Our location is ideal for our guests who want to explore the sights of London, either by foot or public transport which is virtually on our doorstep. I do hope you managed to take advantage of all the extra facilities on offer with our Executive room package and you will come and stay with us again here at The Grosvenor soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    1,304
    407
    127
    52
See reviews for
843
1,717
179
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel's location is central to everything in London. Literally you can access the hotel trough a door with a small sign from the Victoria station. You got access to buses, trains, and all transportation mechanisms within London. The hotel itself is great well maintained, good English breakfast in the morning, great and welcoming staff members. The rooms are apple and nice. This hotel is located within a ten minute walk to Buckingham palace.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Our recently refurbished hotel is really conveniently located and our side entrance from the station is an added bonus. Here at The Grosvenor we pride ourselves on our hotel and team and it’s always a pleasure to welcome new and regular guests through our doors. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel building is beautiful and full of character. We had a fantastic meal here on a previous trip to London and were excited to stay when returning to London however we were a little disappointed. Our room was quite small, although comfortable and modern. The en-suite was tiny. We stayed on a windy night and the sash window in our room banged all night (as it did not close properly) and we had a very poor nights sleep- this was mentioned on check-out and we were only offered a free upgrade if we returned in the future (which I don't think we will). Drinks were over-priced and on top of this, incurred a service charge that did not match good service. In one of the bars there appeared to be no table service yet a hefty service charge was applied when you went to the bar. The hotel public areas were a little cold. However, the location is brilliant, right next to Victoria station with a tube station and express rail to Gatwick, despite this we will be staying in another hotel in the area in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjryan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I regret that you had a disappointing stay with us and I will certainly look into the issues that you have raised. We would welcome the chance to show you that you can have a fantastic stay as well as a superb meal here at The Grosvenor. Please do contact me directly in order that I can personally look after you if you are intending to stay in London again.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very satisfied with our stay here. The rooms are good but the main thing is the hotel is so handy to transport. It is also not far from many attractions and you can choose many restaurants nearby.
Typical English style hotel and the brealkfast is a good variety.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for you post. The team and I here at The Grosvenor hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is situated right in front of a Bus stop and our room happens to be just above the Victoria Station. But the Noise level (if any) is hardly noticeable) Concierge and Staff are very helpful and friendly. Servers @ breakfast are very attentive and were always on their feet bringing us treat coffee hot Choco toast etc. This is much closer to the Westminster Abbey and Parliament bldg. than I expected ... Googlemaps indicate about a 20 min. Walk but it was not. I am not big on walking but I am happy that we stayed here for it's location. It's close to restaurants and pubs. We ate at BAgs of Nails, Shakespeare and Balls Brothers. Bought British Chocolates downstairs at the Victoria Station.
The room we got (booked through at travel agent) were tiny. Good thing we only had carry on luggage, I can't imagine fitting 2 big luggage in the room. I forgot to bring my hair conditioner and the hotel provided only conditioning shampoo.... blah. Beds were so soft unfortunately wasn't good for my back. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChokNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We are conveniently situated here at The Grosvenor with the mainline, underground and bus terminals really close by as well as many tourist attractions within walking distance which makes us an ideal choice if you are not big on walking. Our hotel was built in 1862 and due to the age of the building has several different shaped and sized rooms. Should you decide to stay with us again, please do let us know and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. Our Housekeeping department are always on hand to assist with any extra toiletries you may require and can remove the mattress topper if you would like a slightly firmer bed. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Being just above of such a central underground and train station such as Victoria is simply amazing. We were able to live really tiring days where we walked as much as we could, and ended up late at night after having drinks in a pub, and the way back to the hotel was always really really easy and close. The location is simply AMAZING.

We were concerned about the noise level, but this was really not a problem. The rooms are confortable and really clean. The staff is super friendly without being invasive. This hotel is very worth it's value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and for such a great review. We do have an excellent location for our guests after a hard days work or sightseeing with transport links right on our doorstep; you couldn’t get much closer. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Hotel is located in direct nabourhood to Victoria-Station (railroad & underground); several bus-lines in front of the house; Buckingham Palace a few minutes away (by walk); best conditions for a short visit to see London; the hotel is very traditional & British style; service is excellent and stuff is very friendly and supporting all times; breakfast-lounge is sometimes slightly overcrowded but the buffet gives a plenty of opportunities; our room (Standard) was big enough and silent (only the view from window into the station wasn`t expected but no problem at all).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Your comments are really appreciated and it will certainly be a pleasure to share them with my team. We always do our very best to deliver the standards and service our guests expect from us here at The Grosvenor and we hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,069 in London
4,176 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,069 in London
1,609 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,800 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,217 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing