We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, great sevice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #189 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here just for the one night with my boyfriend and we had a beautiful, top floor room. Perfectly clean and tidy when we arrived and we had managed to get a discount too, although even if we had paid full price it would have been worth it! We filled out the breakfast forms and put them on our door for the next morning. The food arrived on time and it was delicious and there was plenty of it too! I was really impressed and it's definitely worth the extra money for the great quality. One of the nicest places I have ever stayed, in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennysl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and what a fantastic compliment that we are one of the nicest places you have ever stayed in! Thank you for your great feedback on breakfast, which I have shared with my food & beverage team. We hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,006 - 3,012 of 4,239 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was suprised at my bad experience at this Hotel. Although I had booked and prepaid direct with the hotel in advance, the room was not available until 3.30pm. When I finally got to my de-lux room I discovered that although it had a very large bed, there was very little storage space for my clothes- (just half a wardrobe and no drawers), so I had to leave them in my suitcase. I had a nice view from my window but this was spoilt by the very dirty windows (external). The bathroom was reasonable but narrow and I could not figure out how to turn the hot towell rail off. In the corridor outside my room there was a housekeepers storage room, unfortunately everytime the staff entered and left I could hear an extremely loud bang from the door which constantly slammed shut very abruptly. I did complain to several staff in the corridor and I also sent a written note to the General Manager which I gave to the concierge desk. I suggested that the door closer be adjusted by the hotel maintenance team. It's such a pity that I didn't enjoy my
stay at this hotel. I hope they do something about the door closer so that others might get a better experience.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the housekeepers storage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and had to wait until your room was ready. Our check in time is 3pm and I regret that you were kept waiting until 3.30pm. Thank you for your comments regarding the door closers which I have asked my maintenance team to address. I do hope you come back to visit us again soon, please do contact me directly when you have a date in mind.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Grosvenor Hotel has a magnificent welcoming foyer and is a very keenly priced compared to other hotels in central London (Our room cost £414 for 3 nights B & B - booked with onhotels.com). £138 per night may seem expensive, but you are paying for central London and an incredibly handy location which drastically reduces taxi costs and tube fairs, never mind the timed saved travelling. We flew into Gatwick and got the Gatwick express to Victoria station which is adjacent to the hotel. Reunion Bar is a little expensive though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We have an excellent location here at Victoria, which is ideal for guests using the Gatwick Express as well as the underground and mainline stations. We have recently invested £20 million on refurbishing the Grosvenor and I’m delighted that you found our magnificent lobby so welcoming on your arrival. I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a twin room. When we checked in we discovered we were in the wing annex overlooking the train station. The room was very small and we could have lived with that but the constant drone of the PA system in the train station was annoying. We asked to be moved to a room away from the station. Nothing was available unless we wanted to upgrade. So we upgraded to a King in the main part of the hotel on the 5th floor. The room was much bigger and had a sofa as well. Money well spent. They were very accommodating in that they showed us 2 different rooms to choose from. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and is convenient to the train station and centrally located to many things. The staff was very helpful and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the station side of the building. Although we never heard any of the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brysmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted that my team were able to move you to a more suitable room and pleased that you would stay with us again. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful decor and great Asian restaurant in lobby. Location is ideal. If you fly into Gatwick, you can take a train right to the basement. If you're going on to Southampton or Portsmouth you can catch your train just by going down one flight of steps to Victoria Station. Hotel is just blocks from Buckingham Palace, the Mall and within walking distance of Westminster Abbey and Big Ben.
This is a first class hotel in the best location with the best staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larrj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for you post. Our excellent location here at Victoria Station, home of the Gatwick Express, mainline railway lines, Victoria bus terminals and underground connections, allows our guests to enjoy unrivalled access to the capital and many of the sights that London has to offer. I’m thrilled that you awarded us five stars and gave us the prestigious tile of the “Best Hotel in London”. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Best price and service for the money. Ideally located for a first visit in London.
Ideal when you travel from Gatwick Airport to London Victoria and you just enter the hotel directly from the train Station. The sightseeing busses are just in front of the hotel to take you through the town!



  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Silke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted you chose to stay with us for your first visit to London and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff went out of their way to help us. When we first arrived, we checked into our room and found the tub edge was too high for my 86 year old mother- in- law to handle and they moved us immediately to a much nicer, big room which included both a shower and a separate tub. The concierge desk personnel were extremely helpful in giving directions and answering questions. The breakfast was delicious and wait staff was attentive. I would suggest they purchase another waffle machine since it took 30 minutes for a made to order waffle, but they were delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located in the wing. You can noise from the train station loud speaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted to read that you loved your stay with us and our team were helpful and attentive. I will certainly look into your suggestion for another waffle machine. I hope to welcome you both back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#77 of 1,077 in London
4,299 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#327 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $160 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing