We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, with some exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June - overall the hotel was very classy and beautiful. However, here is what I will let my fellow travelers know: First, the street outside is very busy with a bus stop right out front. The good part of that is the Hop On/Off stop is also there, so pretty convenient if you are going to do that. Second, to get into the hotel there are stairs - not a lot (a dozen or so) but this was a bit awkward when trying to haul your luggage up to the doors. Once the bellman realizes you are there, however, they are quick to assist. The hotel is also pretty big, and be prepared to walk long distances down hallways to get to your room. We did have some basic mishaps with housekeeping - such as taking the used towels but not leaving new ones. Also, at least in our particular room, the lighting was very, very dim in the closet/foyer area. Also, the plug in the bathroom was only for shavers, so you had to find another outlet to use the hair dryer - either in the dim closet area or by the desk where there is no mirror. Also in our particular bathroom - there was a regular shower head as well as the wand/hose head. However, the regular shower head shot out the water so hard and fast that it literally hurt when it hit you, so we had no choice but to use the wand instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpioliz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and for your comprehensive feedback regarding your bedroom which I will certainly look into. We do have another entrance into our hotel directly from Victoria station which is less busy and our team would be delighted to show this to you next time you stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,089 - 3,095 of 4,300 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel. The room manager helped make it special by giving us some extras for our stay-a nice touch. The champagne bar is fab & the grand imperial restaurant serves the most amazing food. Stayed here twice now & would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was thrilled you chose to stay with us again, this time for your anniversary, and that my team made your stay special. Thank you for your comments regarding our Reunion Bar and The Grand Imperial which indeed serves amazing food. I look forward to welcoming you back for many more special occasions.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and both mornings at 6.30 am were woken by a neighbour having numerous phone calls.Walls are obviously paper thin. Not good.
Also staff are miserable. Slow and contrary.
The room was very small but clean.
The best part of this hotel is its location, otherwise stay elsewhere and be treated better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was disappointed to read your comments. I’m sorry that you experienced noise from your room next door and that you did not receive the customer service from my team that we strive to deliver here at The Grosvenor. We do indeed have an excellent location. If you would like to give us another chance please contact me directly before your next stay and I will ensure that we make your stay more memorable.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Way back in February I visited this Hotel to arrange an overnight stay with 4 rooms for a surprise Golden Wedding for my childrens God Parents. From the moment I approached the reception desk I was treated like a VIP.It is so rare to find such dedicated hotel staff anywhere in the world but the two people I dealt with in February and when checking in were truly outstanding. My big problem was in delaying there arrival so the room for the Golden couple was decorated. Nothing we requested was a problem and the gift from the Hotel left in Anniversary Room was a wonderful gesture. We had the rooms we requested, all of which were perfectly presented and spotless throughout. Breakfast, as has been reviewed before, was superb with such a large choice. So if you want a memorable stay in a beautiful restored Hotel, this is the place to be. Finally if you are fortunate to be dealt with by Kasia or Eero the Reception Manager who looked after my family so well then you will be made so welcome. Thankyou not just to Kasia and Eero but every one who made our visit so special.

Room Tip: The Wing rooms are excellent and we had 4th and 5th floor which were so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your very kind post. I was delighted to read your complimentary words about Eero and Kasia and proudly passed this on to them and the rest of our team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a landmark occasion and we look forward do welcoming you all back in the near future.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Treated my wife to a few days in London for her 40th in May 2013, stayed here and it was beyond all expectations, would highly recommend to all. everyone was so attentive, we felt like royalty .By far the best hotel we have stayed in to date.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eapdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was thrilled that your stay was beyond your expectations and we made you feel like royalty. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next celebration.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely old hotel, beautifully refurbished. Good location, right next to Victoria station. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. Stayed for one night. Ordered breakfast in our room, as instructed ordered individually for myself and my daughter, two completely different breakfasts, unfortunately got the whole lot on each plate! Poached eggs, fried egg and scrambled. It wasn't particularly good either but that was the only complaint, would stay again but would just order a continental breakfast maybe!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and I’m sorry for the confusion over breakfast. I am glad that you would stay with us again and look forward to seeing you both in the future.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here one night on a business trip in late October and was not disappointed. The Grosvenor is in a fantastic location, not just in terms of commuting to other parts of London for work, but also from a tourist perspective as well. I was late checking in and decided not have have a full meal in the restaurant. I did however have a couple of drinks with friends in the bar, which was lovely. Excellent selection of beers and spirits with really knowledgeable and friendly staff. I also ordered some "bar food" which was exceptional - top end restaurant quality as opposed to what you would usually associate with normal bar food. The room was standard, large and well appointed. Given the location, beside Victoria station, I was expecting not to get much sleep, but there was little or no noise. Would definitely consider going back for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanTDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We are ideally located for both business and leisure travellers alike with bus train and tube links on our doorstep. I was delighted you and your friends enjoyed the excellent selection of drinks and exceptional food from our Reunion bar. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,077 in London
4,337 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#324 of 1,077 in London
1,679 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $158 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing