We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with the Grosvenor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #193 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at The Grosvenor for three nights in February 2013 and would highly recommend. The recently renovated hotel is beautiful, and our upgraded rooms were spacious and very nice. The hotel staff was courteous, and even gave us the room upgrade and a little something extra since we were celebrating a special occasion! We booked a special deal through their website and I found it to be a great value. Not to mention the central location and super-convenient access to Victoria Station! My only criticisms were in regard to the wireless service (the signal in our particular room was terrible, but we had no problem in my sister's room or anywhere else in the hotel), and I'd recommend skipping the buffet breakfast (overpriced for just ok quality). Instead go for breakfast in The Lounge where the menu is a la carte and the food was much better. We also enjoyed drinks in Reunion bar overlooking the bustle of Victoria before heading out for the night. All in all it was a great trip and we'll certainly look to stay here again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank sbrinkmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,199 - 3,205 of 4,242 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed thurs fri sat in deluxe double with breakfast. had a room on 7th floor in 1 of the towers. limited view but very quiet. we found the hotel spotlessly clean, comfy bed, very friendly, great breakfast and the reunion bar was lovely place to be for quiet evening drinks. having victoria tube next door means getting around is quick and easy or you can walk to harrods or hyde park in 15-20 mins. over all, great location, cheery staff, lovely victorian luxury hotel which we will gladly use again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Got a great last minute deal for a theatre break and experienced The Grosvenor for the first time. Had a great deluxe double room, great value for central London. Ate in the brasserie and a good value, high quality meal, great service throughout the hotel, and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had an exelent executive room at the 2nd floor, 213, and we were taken to the room by the manager at check in at 10 in the morning. The room has a dark, victorian feeling in a modern way. The executive lounge is just great, complimentary breakfast, evening snack an drinks. Makes it very good value. Will come back to an executive room

1  Thank bigjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here midweek during January. The first thing to say about the hotel is that it smack bang next to Victoria station so whichever way you arrive and depart it is convenient. There is a direct link from the train station concourse to the hotel though we didn't know about it on first arrival. If you are coming and going by train it is useful corridor running from reception to the station and avoids one of the pitfalls mentioned by a previous reviewer of picking away through the bus queue directly outside the front door of the hotel.
Check in was slow and there was a queue but this was because all the computers were down and everything was having to be done manually. The staff were pleasant and explained all this and apologised. I was travelling with my elderly mother and on seeing this despite the problems the man at reception went back to upgrade the room as this would mean less walking from the lift. This encounter was matched throughout our short stay by all staff happy to chat and the housekeeping lady being especially helpful. The upgraded room was a good size and though it overlooked the front of the busy station and the building work going on in the surrounding area noise was never an issue.
The room was a good size with all amenities that were required. It was a comfortable stay. We had breakfast which was adequate though as is often the case overpriced compared to what you could get locally at cafes etc.
Being adjacent to the station meant that there were plenty of places to obtain supplies. You can walk to Buckingham Palace in 10-15 minutes and as Victoria is a hub anywhere within the capital is easily reachable.
We didn't eat in the restaurant or use the cocktail bar.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for comfort and location and would definitely return here

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brushstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a great choice based on location. Very comfortable, updated room. I stayed for three nights and found this a pleasant place to stay. I was disappointed by the concierge staff though but rest of staff were very nice. Concierge staff kept directing me to taxis when tube was a much better choice...faster and cheaper...I guess this was to be expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiathosdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A lovely elegant 5 star London Hotel in an excellent location. Staff were friendly and attentive. The bar was wonderful, lively and had a fantastic drinks menu.Rooms are well appointed with a modern twist.A good choice at breakfast but the room lacked natural light. Check in and out was quick and straight forward.Would recommend for a romantic break.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BristolHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#76 of 1,077 in London
4,302 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#327 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,004 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $160 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing