We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal for business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ideal for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in a single room here for 3 nights, as my London office is a short distance away. In terms of location, it is great for me, and as it's joined on to Victoria Station (meaning you don't need to go out into the street), it's very easy to get anywhere else in the capital.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the lobby of the hotel was nicely decorated in a traditional manner, whilst the room was a bit more contemporary. Although it was a small room, it had everything I needed in terms of facilities, and was very comfortable. The street outside is rather noisy, however, so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper!

The room was cleaned really well each day, and the bathroom and shower was nice. I would definitely stay here again if travelling on business, although the price seemed a bit expensive if I was actually paying out of my own money (but perhaps this is typical of central London).

The breakfast sounded rather too expensive, at £12, but the adjoining Victoria station has a huge range of better value options, so this wasn't an issue!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dan K,

Thank you for the great review.

I was pleased to read that the Hotel suited your needs so well

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a leisure trip soon and don’t forget to book via our web site where we offer a best rate guarantee on all bookings.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    1,106
    335
    107
    47
See reviews for
661
1,429
145
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early January 2013. His company booked a "anniversary of the company" vacation for the upper management so they chose this accommodation. It was a very good choice. We were traveling with a large group (100+) and everyone had very nice things to say about their room and the service. The first night we ordered room service. It was delicious and prompt. The hotel connects to Victoria Station which gives one quick access to the "underground", London's subway system. We found this super convenient as we used the tubes alot to get around. The concierge's desk and reception was always helpful and friendly and gave good directions/advice when asked. When my luggage was misplaced at the airport, I was told to call the airline when I got to my hotel. The reception desk did a FANTASTIC job of helping me connect to the right person at the airport. They went above and beyond because they realized I was unfamiliar with international calling. We had breakfast every morning and it was first class. There was something for everyone, even vegetarian me. The rooms were clean and spacious, especially for European hotel rooms. It felt very first class. My husband and I are planning a return trip to Europe and will definitely stay here while in London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. I believe most of the renovations are complete because we did not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonandkate83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear jonandkate83,

Thank you for the excellent review.

I was pleased to read that you had a great stay and that my Front Desk team went above and beyond.

I look forward to welcoming you back and don’t forget to book via our web site where we offer a best rate guarantee on all bookings.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I got a fantastic deal to stay here for 1 night through LondonTown.com. I stayed in a single room as I was down in London for an interview. The room was very comfortable,clean and well maintained. My window however faced the Victoria Station and all the road works that is going on in the area so there was some noise, which I remedy by using ear plugs when sleeping. Apart from that minor moan this hotel is perfectly situated for all the Theatres, sights of London and some good drinking establishments nearby.It is very plush,has attentive staff, a small gym(which i used) and good food on offer at all the restaurants inside. I ate in the Brasserie which was of course expensive but the food was of high quality and really nice. I had a main course of fish and chips followed by an ice cream sundae, washed down with a couple of pints for £26. A really nice, high quality hotel which I would visit again next time I am in London...but with the wife!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the victoria station or take some ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear tonysprings,

Thank you for the great review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked the Grosvenor as a birthday surprise for my partner, who was very impressed from the first impression of entering the foyer, to the nice double room. Although our room was fairly small it was very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and we had all the facilities we needed. The staff were all very polite and helpful . As already mentioned the Grosvenor is in a great location for all the west end attractions and theatres and easy for train connections at Victoria station. Our room was on the inside of the hotel by the railway station which made us worry that we may get woken by train announcments etc, however this was unfounded as we never heard a thing, downside was that we never had a view from our window. Overall I would stay there again if wanting a great central hotel with a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear KentClive,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read you had a great birthday break.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Grovensor is by far the best quality hotel we have stayed in whilst in london. From the moment you walk in, it looks amazing, very luxurious and the public areas are very clean, and well maintained. It feels very special, we went for both mine and friends birthday, and were very glad we chose this hotel. The reception manager was very friendly, as were other staff we met, and we were very lucky to have an upgrade to a larger room,which was at the front of the hotel. It was beautiful, very clean, with a very large bathroom for london, even a bath!
What is also great is that you can access the hotel directly from victoria station, and it is so well located for all of londons sights!
Thank you to all at the grovensor, we shall return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear storyman,

Thank you for the fantastic review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were here as part of a group in December like we always are and this time was just painful. Normally I would rave about this hotel but our check-in was embarrassingly slow with our rooms not being ready and other such nonsense and our bags being lost for an hour!! (This was all after 3pm too s its not like we were early!)

But the most frustrating thing was that 3 out of 3 of the mornings we were woken by drilling and hammering and other such loud noises as they were doing up and renovating a few areas of the 5th floor.

We generally have great experiences at this hotel but this time, I may just stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Steve P,

Thank you for your review.

I was concerned to read that you were disturbed during your stay.

Our renovations finished quite a few months ago and so I am unsure what this may have been if your stay was in December 2012 as mentioned?

I would be delighted to get some more information on this and of course to ensure that any future stay is more reflective of our normal standards.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com and please feel free to drop me a note

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Grosvenor hotel whilst enjoying a sightseeing and theatre weekend break. We were so impressed with the hotel from the moment we walked in the entrance. The entrance was very grand and check in was quick and friendly. We were in a standard room (468) - very pleased we didn't pay for an upgrade as the room was a fantastic size and much bigger than we were expecting. Only slight niggle was the lack of hairdrier but this was no problem as we only stayed for one night.

The hotel was in a brilliant location - close to all major attractions, right next door to Victoria station and opposite the Victoria Apollo and Victoria Palace theatres.

We paid for breakfast which was well worth the extra. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lots of choice.

We are already planning a return trip to London and will definitely be staying in the Grosvenor hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandAR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear CandAR03,

Thank you for the fantastic review of the Grosvenor.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#306 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#92 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,840 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#230 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing