We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
1 review
“Excellent value and location”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We came on a 2 night organised coach trip from South Wales and extended the stay by another two nights in order to watch the carriage procession along the Mall on Tuesday. The room was on the 7th floor of the wing. It had been nearly refurbished, but quite small, however the raindrop shower in the bathrooom was excellent. Breakfast was very good, however when we tried to arrange for an earlier time than the 7am start, to go to the Mall - it proved very difficult to have anything before 6.30am please beware of this. Overall an excellent hotel to stay in London for location and value.

Room Tip: Go for the wing rooms on the higher floors, not on the street, they were quiet except for a few stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Tony M,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review, I was pleased to read that you had a great stay.

I have asked my Food and Beverage team to note the comments regarding the breakfast times to ensure that early breakfast requests are met

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    1,267
    386
    124
    51
See reviews for
807
1,659
171
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our arrival to London, which later we would find out to be one of the best in the UK and Europe.

As we arrived on an early AM flight from Australia, we arrived before normal check in and had not arranged a prior night stay because of the uncertainty of arrival time to London. They where happy to assist in providing us a room (an upgraded fully refurbished room, Infact the first people to have stayed in that room) Obviously we had to pay, but it beats having sit around numb in the lobby until the room was ready.

The room was very lovely and clean. Although i did find the pillows and bed where very firm - but I like a soft bed (cant please everyone)

I would like to mention, get to the breakfast early as there was a line out the door, and not everybody could be seated, Perhaps in the summer they could take bookings or open up another area as everyone in the hotel must of decided to eat breakfast at the same time. We ordered an omelette which was different to the buffet provided and it never arrived, which was disappointing but slightly understandable due to the busy restaurant.

The location was excellent!! being so close to the Victoria Station, Hyde park and not to mention our local pub "the Shakespeare" and everything else in-between, Would recommend anyone to stay here.

A few slight hiccups made up by its historic charm and wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danistyles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear danistyles85,

Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review, I have shared your feedback with my team.

Thank you also for the feedback regarding breakfast, we will look to see what improvements we can make from these with the seating and delivery of omelettes’.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel after attending the Diamond Jubilee concert at Buckingham Palace. The hotel has just been refurbished and is immaculate, with everything done to a very high standard.
Our double room and the bathroom were both very tiny; it was necessary to shut the bathroom door before sitting on the toilet or else there wasn't room. Everything in both rooms was very smart. We only encountered a few problems in that the room was very cold when we returned at night and we couldn't get it any warmer using the controls. The announcements from the station under our window were very noisy until at least 12.30am and began again quite early in the morning. My teenaged daughter was very dismayed to find there was no free wifi because it is pretty much standard in most hotels we go to which are much cheaper than this one.l
We got breakfast for a discounted rate of £10 and it was excellent quality and value for that price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear molly1201,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I am pleased that you had a good stay with us over the Jubilee weekend.

I am sorry you found you room to be small, please feel free to e-mail me personally when you are next planning a visit to London so we can offer you the best possible rates on our larger Deluxe or Executive rooms.

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went to this hotel over the Diamond Jubilee week. Although London was VERY busy the hotel was relatively quiet. I would however DEFINETLY recommend forking out for an executive stay as the service you get from the executive lounge is absolutely IMPECCABLE and it also means you don't have to pay for breakfast as its included in the lounge. My only critic and the reason we gave this hotel a very good rating instead of AMAZING is because we booked a king size bed in the room and were given to beds which obviously had been pushed together which also had single duvets on them however we didn't mention this and I'm sure they would have done something if we had. Overall, the stay is fantastic and it is in a brilliant part of London with easy access to everywhere possible.

Room Tip: Take an executive room its well worth the money! Also, if going when something to do with Queen is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Louise M,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I am pleased that you had a good stay with us over the Jubilee weekend and that you found our executive lounge so good.

I hop we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed here 2 nights before and after a cruise. a little old in the room but clean and large. overlooked the train station which can be a bit noisy but not enough to keep you awake- take a room as high up as possible. great breakfast and amazing lobby that feels like your staying in a castle. I will stay here next time we cruise out of southhampton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angscotjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear angscotjer,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your pre and post cruise stays

We look forward to welcoming you back before your next cruise from Southampton

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived early from Paris our bags were taken care off and we were given an upgrade to a suite.
beautiful room staff were helpful
Unfortunatly no free wi fi,but was offered the use of their buisness centre so able to send emails ect.
Had to cut our stay short by one day but loved our time there. Thank you all very much.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade but unfortunatly heard every announcment from Victoria Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Annie M,

Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As a tourist, the location can't be beat: an easy walk to all the popular places AND a lobby stairway into Victoria rail and tube station! It's very attractive and our double room was recently redone, which was very nice (minor dislike: the flatscreen TV was low quality and reading in bed was tough with the way the lighting was done.) Buffet breakfast, with the room, each morning had great choices. The staff was very accommodating, from a room upgrade to helping with directions to concern about our welfare when one of us wasn't feeling well one evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Gus B,

Thank you for the fantastic Tripadvisor review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that my team were very accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#249 of 1,067 in London
4,237 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing