We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very regal encounter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed here 2 nights before and after a cruise. a little old in the room but clean and large. overlooked the train station which can be a bit noisy but not enough to keep you awake- take a room as high up as possible. great breakfast and amazing lobby that feels like your staying in a castle. I will stay here next time we cruise out of southhampton.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angscotjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear angscotjer,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your pre and post cruise stays

We look forward to welcoming you back before your next cruise from Southampton

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,135)
There are newer reviews for The Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,489 - 3,495 of 4,135 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived early from Paris our bags were taken care off and we were given an upgrade to a suite.
beautiful room staff were helpful
Unfortunatly no free wi fi,but was offered the use of their buisness centre so able to send emails ect.
Had to cut our stay short by one day but loved our time there. Thank you all very much.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade but unfortunatly heard every announcment from Victoria Station
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Annie M,

Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As a tourist, the location can't be beat: an easy walk to all the popular places AND a lobby stairway into Victoria rail and tube station! It's very attractive and our double room was recently redone, which was very nice (minor dislike: the flatscreen TV was low quality and reading in bed was tough with the way the lighting was done.) Buffet breakfast, with the room, each morning had great choices. The staff was very accommodating, from a room upgrade to helping with directions to concern about our welfare when one of us wasn't feeling well one evening.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Gus B,

Thank you for the fantastic Tripadvisor review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that my team were very accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is our rendition of a lovely hotel in grand fashion. Often our trips to UK include city and country. We usually check in here for a couple of nights to get or footing, then hit the country for a week of Express Rail out in the country, then back to the hotel for another week of sightseeing by day and theatre by night. On our November 2011 trip, I made the grand entrance down the grand stair case in the picture above right across the marble floor to the great rug on my back side. Got the encore ovation!
Room are large, most views are not what you would right home about, unless you are into the roof tops of Mary Poppins fame or the famous roof of Victoria Station. Restaurant is very pleasant. The hidden door from Victoria Station leads you to the check in desk. Check in is fact and very courteous. We have never had so much as an hiccup of a problem. We would have a standing apartment here if we could. The Palace is around the corner. Very convenient to eateries and places of interest. The grand daddy of all tube stops and train station is only a step away.

Room Tip: Of all the times we have stayed here we have never had a bad room. We have stayed only on the 5th...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoark1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Geoark1946,

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments and I have shared this with the team

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Went with three friends to visit the Chelsea Flower Show, The Grovenor proved to be a good choice of place to stay. The staff were helpful, friendly and polite, the public areas are quite spectacular and certainly make an impression. The sweeping staircase is lovely, it leads you up to the champagne & cocktail bar, very inviting. We had booked two twin rooms and were allocated wing rooms on the fourth floor, a bit of a trek, but we didn't mind. The first room was large and had a double and single bed, all very nice. The room my friend and I stayed in was smaller with twin beds, but was fine, although the unit with the tv etc.. on was a bit worn and knocked about a bit. We were only there for one night so wern't too bothered. Breakfast, the next morning was great, we were pleased to find that they were giving special vouchers out at reception that knocked £10s off the price, so we enjoyed it all the more. All in all a good stay at the Grovenor and I would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced, central London hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilliYorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear LilliYorkist,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay when visiting the Chelsea Flower Show

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as we were attending the Royal Garden Party. First impressions very good, and you are able to access the hotel from the mainline Victoria Station Concourse. Lobby very impressive and reception was quick and efficient. Room was a standard twin room, the bedroom was quite big with IPod docking station and LCD Television, a mini bar, which wasn't cold. The bathroom was very small but clean and adequate, shower over the bath and the bath was quite deep so may not be suitable for all as quite awkward to get in and out of. When we stayed it was quite hot, about 27 degrees. The window in the rooms don't open and the air conditioning was set to the lowest but the room was unbearably hot so didn't sleep first night. Went down to reception next day and they sent maintenance quickly, he managed to get the window open slightly and reset the air-conditioning, promised to come back and check but didn't. Got some sleep next night because window slightly open but we were facing the street so quite noisy. Ate in the Grand Imperial Cantonese, attached to hotel which was lovely and very good service. Breakfast in the morning was okay but wouldn't pay for it as much nicer cafes nearby. Would stay again but insist on cooler room, really handy for tube/buses.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Belanna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Belana66,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you had a lovely meal in the Grand Imperial although I am sorry the rest of your stay was not more enjoyable

Please feel free to contact me personally when you have future dates in mind for a trip to London as I would be delighted to assist.

My personally e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com,

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Room was very dusty. Bed sheets were ripped and there were stains and muck on bed.
Staff were very friendly, very quickly sorted.
Not fully equipped, tea, coffee. Had to request towels.
Shower leaked and flooded bathroom floor
Chair leg was broken, so no way to sit at desk
Room view was roof tops.
Croissants were over microwaved, so tough to eat. Scrambled eggs and fried eggs tasted very greasy.
Cereal not covered, so tasted stale

But otherwise pretty hotel nice staff. Room adequately spacious and bathroom comfortable size

Room Tip: Request room with a good view, we were over Victoria Station side and saw rooftops. The booming soun...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbiJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear AbiJ J,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

Please accept my apologies that your stay was not more enjoyable.

I certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when I am sure we would demonstrate our normally high standards.

Should you have a date in mind please feel free to contact me, my personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com,

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#70 of 1,073 in London
4,228 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#318 of 1,073 in London
1,633 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,073 in London
3,257 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $194 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing