We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #872 of 1,068 Hotels in London
notheast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value good location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

having stayed here 3 years ago, I new was in need of decoration , we were very pleased our room was spacious very clean modern and new could not fault it stayed on north side , would recommend had great stay there , central location

Room Tip: defo north side we were on 6thfloor could not fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    1,693
    3,194
    1,323
    1,347
See reviews for
2,272
1,991
392
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although the Hotel is well situated, it was impossible to sleep through the night. Half the hotel faces an inner court which contains a large restaurant and pub. Tour busses begin loading early in the morning with loud groups. This noise, both late in the evening and early in the morning can be heard in the rooms which are not provided with sound proof windows. Breakfast was a farce which included cheap cereals, cold toast, mixture of stale buns, brown water for coffee. Book elsewhere!

Room Tip: Select a room not facing the courtyard and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wiesbaden-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was very satisfied with this hotel. Basic but very clean, staff very helpful, food good. It is very large and caters for all kinds of groups but I was by myself and not bothered a bit by others. I would recommend this hotel to others who want an economical hotel in a very central location in London.













  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel when we visited London at end of last month .Its only 3*** but for the amount of time you spend there it was fine for us .This is the second time we have stayed here .The hotel is massive with a lot of people coming and going all the time .The rooms are very spacious plenty of room in the family room with double + 2 single beds in .The bathroom is big and has a bath and shower in .Rooms are very clean ,beds comfortable ,clean towels every day ,there's also tea /coffee facilities in the room .We booked as a package ,with hotel ,train + show all included in price ,we had free meal first night we arrived it also included full English Breakfast both day's .Would recommend you ask for a quiet room as the rooms at the front face the main road and it has a lot of traffic all the time .Check in is 2 00 pm we arrived early and our room was ready so we got straight in ,But there is a safe room where you can leave your luggage for 50p an item .Its a short walk ( about 10 /15 mins ) from Kings Cross and is central for most places either by bus or tube .The big bus tours bus stops right outside the hotel .Really enjoyed our stay and would go back ...

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room at back of hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I hated absolutely everything about the Royal National Hotel. We stayed there for one night before going on a Contiki tour and then 2 nights when we returned from Contiki. On the first night we arrived quite late due to a delayed flight and were met by a rude and unhelpful concierge who proceeded to tell me that they couldn't locate our booking and we would have to pay a second time and work out the issue with our travel agent. My finance arrived in our room greeted by two single beds (even though we booked a double months in advance), a broken kettle, no soap, a single tea bag, a toilet that dripped and an environment that felt barely clean. We tried the included breakfast on our last day: cornflakes and cold toast. Don't ask for assistance because you'll be met with more rudeness. Only benefit was the free wifi in the lobby - which worked sometimes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelina999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed here four times over the last 10 years and would definitely recommend it. It's perfect if your after some where to base yourself for a few days sight seeing. The rooms have everything you need and its clean. There's a tube very close. Regular tour buses leave from directly outside the hotel. Lots of shops/cafes and pubs on its doorstep. Excellent box office on sight for discount tickets for all the London sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you're looking for a clean, well placed and comfortable place to stay while actively exploring London, this is a good choice. The rooms have all the essentials, the cleaning service is excellent, the underground is only twenty seconds away and you've got 24/7 food and drink shops at a 50m distance. Also, a few really nice restaurants for those days you just can't imagine taking another step. As well as vending machines in the lobby.
However, if you're planning on spending more time at your hotel, you might want to keep in mind that this hotel is huge, with many customers, lines to elevators and breakfast during rush hours. The windows are not sound proof and it can get quite loud in the evenings. Also the rooms are rather small and worn and some of the staff (particularly the concierge staff) seems they wish they were some place else and will answer every one of your questions with a shrug. (The cleaning staff is very polite and efficient though.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaElin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#602 of 1,068 in London
2,594 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing