We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #876 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is value for the price you pay. The rates are very reasonable and affordable. There's a tube station very near which helped a lot with the transportation, also a bus station right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    1,649
    3,077
    1,263
    1,297
See reviews for
2,170
1,910
379
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a rugby trip, the hotel is quite large with many rooms which were clean enough, with the usual tea and coffee facilities. We didn't use the hotel much other than to sleep and have breakfast. The staff were ok and quite helpful.

Breakfast was busy but we always managed to be seated and the food was nice. We had the full english . I was overlooking the courtyard rooms was a bit noisy as it was often busy at night due to onsight bar, although this did not bother me personally, it may be an issue if you have a young family.

The hotel was a bit dated, but it is in a great location for Russell Square tube, and some good local pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location for this hotel and the room was presentable for the price paid. Small beds but comfy enough in the room we had.

The main problem was that our room overlooked the courtyard bit the coaches pulled into and young people seemed to gather all nite long. Even though we were several stories up the sound seemed to be amplified. In fact it was horrendous the entire nite. All you could hear were people laughing, shouting and talking and i'm used to living on a busy main road. It sounded like they were right outside our window. Neither of us got much sleep because of it.

Breakfast was a horrible affair. It was a free for all, you go in and seat yourself wherever you can find a spare table. The trouble is that even though the room was big, finding somewhere to sit was not easy, with people almost fighting each other for any table they could find. We almost lost ours while we went up to collect our food as someone was moving our jackets off the chairs so they could have the table as we came back. Reminded me very much of a school dinning room, plastic chairs and cheap tables. The food was not great either and getting to it was almost as hard as finding a seat.

We asked a member of the FOH team where we could get a taxi from and he just waved his hand and said 'out there' as he gestured to the door of the hotel.

Worth the stay if you can't afford anything else but worth upgrading to the Imperial Hotel round the corner (part of the same chain) for an extra 20 quid if you can.

All in all it was like a youth hostel with young people sat around on the floor in some areas. You get what you pay for. Not a horrendous stay but not good either. The clean room made up for it.

Room Tip: Do not chose a room overlooking the courtyard part. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent location for access to central London 2mins walk to tube station 10mins to euston and kings cross train stations on foot. Room was clean we had a family room with 3 single beds and a put up bed. The beds were ok small singles and on wheels so tended to move if you turned over in bed! Staff were efficient and desk staff helpful we booked tickets to visit the tower of london with them for the online price advertised on the tower website. The breakfast was the usual cooked items sausages bacon eggs beans etc and also toast and bread rolls were available. Being vegetarian found there was little choice on the continental section compared to other hotels we have stayed in only cereal and toast. Would not recommend the restaurant for evening dining we were given free 3 course meal as part of the deal we booked but again very limited choice and the food resembled school dinners wouldn't have been happy to pay for it so if a meal isnt part of your booking woul recommend eating out elsewhere. All on all basic budget style hotel but its got a good location and we literally only slept there. Would recommend as long as you dont want luxury stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Its got a very good location , easy to get anywhere .Close to everything!! It isn't the most modern place but its okay . The room was clean a little old but clean a nice stay . The breakfast was alright , the juice wasn't strong enough though! But quiet a good hotel , worth staying there if your going into London! Its really spacious , a lot of room to practice my over splits! Good hotel over all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the first time I stayed in this hotel. The check in was slow due to the arrival of two buses, however when it was my turn I was dealt with speedily and efficiently. The hotel is huge and spread out so it can be awkward on arrival to find ones way about. The room was spotlessly clean though providing one tea and one coffee seems decidedly mean for a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was much easier than I expected thanks to the efficiency of the staff. I did not use any other facillities.

Room Tip: Ask for clear instructions on how to reach your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a two night break here.For the price we paid couldn't fault anything.It was clean staff were friendly.Breakfast came with the deal and as we had booked two nights we also got a three course meal on the first night which you get a choice of places within the hotel group to eat.The meal was good as was breakfast considering the turn over.We found the position was reasonably central.l do think you have to take into account this is only a 3 star and obviously you get what you pay for but the rooms were clean and comfortable it didn't have a nice lounge to relax in but does have all other amenities

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#581 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing