We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #877 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is being up graded i.e. decorated, there were signs of good improvements. It would also benefit from new staff or customer focused care training and implementation. The lack of a good welcome from the staff was disappointing and unacceptable. This continued into the dinning rooms, the staff did the least that they could get away with, not clearing tables or wiping them clean. Overall a disappointing experience, not to be repeated!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 8,221 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location excellent for tube, Kings X, Covent Garden, Leicester Square and beyond. Rooms spacious, spotless with hair drier, tv and tea/coffee making facility and good firm beds, with 2 pillows each. Lots of groups of happy, full of life young people who were all well behaved, I quite envied their excitement and zest for life. Breakfast tables and food in plentiful supply. Tables cleared immediately you finished. A lot of general cleaning ongoing in the public areas. Check in and out smooth and stress free by courteous and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Our agent asked for a room for us in the main building. We were near the lifts on the 2nd floor, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms with tea/coffee making facility. Each room has its own bathroom which is basic but clean.

Very good location near Russell Square, the British museum is just a couple of streets away on foot.

The down side is the breakfast. It's very very basic... Just tea or coffee n plain bread with just jam & butter. No ham or cheese available!!

Great place to stay though!!
Especially considering the prices in London!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lava_Angel_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

To start this review, I feel the need to mention that my friend and I got a great price on our stay at the Royal National. We only paid about 35€/night each, so I didn't expect a luxury hotel.
I would definiely consider staying there again as its location is excellent: close to King's Cross/St Pancras, very close to Russell Square underground station, walking distance to the British Museum and many other places.
Nevertheless, there are a lot of pros and cons to staying at this hotel:
Pros:
- Location
- Price
- Our room was quite comfortable and clean
- Big bathroom
- Breakfast is included
- Kettle with tea/coffee in the room
Cons:
- No wifi in the room (the one in the lobby worked well for us though)
- A bit noisy
- The hallways are a bit tired
- Breakfast is not the best
- The employees are not always the friendliest (they were not plain rude either)

Overall, I would say this is a good place to crash after a day of sightseeing, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danagillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (7th-10th feb) with my 5 year old son. On arriving first impressions were ok, lots of large groups of students hanging about. Check in was quick, staff member was disinterested was as quick as he could bet rid of us! Room was ok, clean plenty space, flat screen tv, hair dryer. Bathroom was clean, plenty towels (although a bit grubby looking, more grey than white). The room was stifling hot, opened window and left it open for the duration of our stay! There was alot of noise at night time - doors banging, people shouting, screaming, carrying on, also alot of traffic noise which was unnavoidable as we had to keep the window open with room being so hot!! We had our first night dinner free with booking (we had gone out for a meal before going back to hotel, but went for a look). Safe to say im glad we had eaten out, food looked like it had been there for hours, roast beef was so tough the chef could barely get his knife through it! Breakfast was a chool dining hall type affair, plenty continental type foods, english breakfast needs improving - bacon was rock hard, boiled egg yolks had started to turn grey! The hotel is a 5 min walk fron russell square tube station and a few mins to bus stop (no7 takes you to oxfors street) Overall this hotel was fine for a base but not really suited for families - huge groups of students = noise and little consideration for other guests! The price we paid for 3 nights b&b (£380) w pretty steep for the quality ofthe hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I promise I am not trying to be sensational about this. I have never been in such a horrible place in my life. The hotel is unspeakably dirty, the staff vary from disinterested to rude, and the condition of everything- from the door that had been kicked in numerous times and wouldn't close, to the broken television, to the window that didn't latch and flew open during the night, was in an unbelievable state of disrepair. We were attacked in the elevator by an intoxicated youth, brandishing a glass bottle- the hotel is exclusively populated by youth tour groups- and had to run down the hallway to escape. The lobby was full of underage people, all completely wasted and openly drinking, yelling and screaming. Run- don't walk- away from this hotel. It simply couldn't be worse.

Room Tip: Seriously, don't stay here. I'm not kidding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GregGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and whilst this isn't the best hotel I have stayed in, it's by no means the worst. The room was little ragged around the edges but clean and comfortable. It was very warm when we went in but once we turned the radiator off (top and bottom) it was fine. Breakfast was ok but could have been a bit more choice on English breakfast such as mushrooms. Very canteen style but you get what you pay for, don't you. Tube station close by and several restaurnts and pubs in the area, no need to head into central london. Walkable from Covent garden.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeywaneyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#577 of 1,077 in London
2,684 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,077 in London
3,630 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#566 of 1,077 in London
2,087 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,077 in London
1,262 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#288 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #877 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $92 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing