We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Jackie G, Scottish Visitor, Recommend this hotel on all counts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #858 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jackie G, Scottish Visitor, Recommend this hotel on all counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location excellent for tube, Kings X, Covent Garden, Leicester Square and beyond. Rooms spacious, spotless with hair drier, tv and tea/coffee making facility and good firm beds, with 2 pillows each. Lots of groups of happy, full of life young people who were all well behaved, I quite envied their excitement and zest for life. Breakfast tables and food in plentiful supply. Tables cleared immediately you finished. A lot of general cleaning ongoing in the public areas. Check in and out smooth and stress free by courteous and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Our agent asked for a room for us in the main building. We were near the lifts on the 2nd floor, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    1,527
    2,864
    1,189
    1,218
See reviews for
1,992
1,755
364
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms with tea/coffee making facility. Each room has its own bathroom which is basic but clean.

Very good location near Russell Square, the British museum is just a couple of streets away on foot.

The down side is the breakfast. It's very very basic... Just tea or coffee n plain bread with just jam & butter. No ham or cheese available!!

Great place to stay though!!
Especially considering the prices in London!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lava_Angel_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

To start this review, I feel the need to mention that my friend and I got a great price on our stay at the Royal National. We only paid about 35€/night each, so I didn't expect a luxury hotel.
I would definiely consider staying there again as its location is excellent: close to King's Cross/St Pancras, very close to Russell Square underground station, walking distance to the British Museum and many other places.
Nevertheless, there are a lot of pros and cons to staying at this hotel:
Pros:
- Location
- Price
- Our room was quite comfortable and clean
- Big bathroom
- Breakfast is included
- Kettle with tea/coffee in the room
Cons:
- No wifi in the room (the one in the lobby worked well for us though)
- A bit noisy
- The hallways are a bit tired
- Breakfast is not the best
- The employees are not always the friendliest (they were not plain rude either)

Overall, I would say this is a good place to crash after a day of sightseeing, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danagillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (7th-10th feb) with my 5 year old son. On arriving first impressions were ok, lots of large groups of students hanging about. Check in was quick, staff member was disinterested was as quick as he could bet rid of us! Room was ok, clean plenty space, flat screen tv, hair dryer. Bathroom was clean, plenty towels (although a bit grubby looking, more grey than white). The room was stifling hot, opened window and left it open for the duration of our stay! There was alot of noise at night time - doors banging, people shouting, screaming, carrying on, also alot of traffic noise which was unnavoidable as we had to keep the window open with room being so hot!! We had our first night dinner free with booking (we had gone out for a meal before going back to hotel, but went for a look). Safe to say im glad we had eaten out, food looked like it had been there for hours, roast beef was so tough the chef could barely get his knife through it! Breakfast was a chool dining hall type affair, plenty continental type foods, english breakfast needs improving - bacon was rock hard, boiled egg yolks had started to turn grey! The hotel is a 5 min walk fron russell square tube station and a few mins to bus stop (no7 takes you to oxfors street) Overall this hotel was fine for a base but not really suited for families - huge groups of students = noise and little consideration for other guests! The price we paid for 3 nights b&b (£380) w pretty steep for the quality ofthe hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I promise I am not trying to be sensational about this. I have never been in such a horrible place in my life. The hotel is unspeakably dirty, the staff vary from disinterested to rude, and the condition of everything- from the door that had been kicked in numerous times and wouldn't close, to the broken television, to the window that didn't latch and flew open during the night, was in an unbelievable state of disrepair. We were attacked in the elevator by an intoxicated youth, brandishing a glass bottle- the hotel is exclusively populated by youth tour groups- and had to run down the hallway to escape. The lobby was full of underage people, all completely wasted and openly drinking, yelling and screaming. Run- don't walk- away from this hotel. It simply couldn't be worse.

Room Tip: Seriously, don't stay here. I'm not kidding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GregGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and whilst this isn't the best hotel I have stayed in, it's by no means the worst. The room was little ragged around the edges but clean and comfortable. It was very warm when we went in but once we turned the radiator off (top and bottom) it was fine. Breakfast was ok but could have been a bit more choice on English breakfast such as mushrooms. Very canteen style but you get what you pay for, don't you. Tube station close by and several restaurnts and pubs in the area, no need to head into central london. Walkable from Covent garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeywaneyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to starting a Contiki Tour with a friend in a twin single room. Checked in close to midnight and there were plenty of staff in reception to check us in and answer our questions.

Stayed in room 267, which overlooked other hotel windows. The room was spacey enough to fit our luggages and the beds were positioned well enough to have some privacy. Beds were comfortable to sleep in. Bathroom was reasonably sized with toilet, shower and vanity. Power points in the room are in inconvenient places and you couldn't have your phone/devices charging next to you.

Location of the hotel is close to Russell Square station, about a 3-5 minute walk.

Our booking didn't include breakfast but there's cafes along the street that had some good value breakfast options.

They have a luggage storage for 50p which is locked when it isn't supervised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#527 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#555 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#559 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#445 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#346 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing