We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of Contiki, Not Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #879 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Before we started our 28 Day European Contiki Tour we stayed at the Royal National Hotel. Our first impressions of the hotel was that it was an old hospital with its long hallways line with rooms.

The rooms at best were like an Australian standard motel, but I guess the price of the rooms was worth what you get. I only booked it for one night as we were leaving from the hotel in the morning and it was just easier to stay here than come from another hotel. Very dated room and the beds were not comfortable at all. Really bad nights sleep!

London was an awesome place, we only had a couple of days there we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DelPiero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 8,278 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I were over in London from the 23 Dec '12 - 1 Jan '13 and I must admit, after having read all the horror stories about the Royal National, were anxious to say the least to see our accomodation. I must gratefully say that non of the horror stories were experienced by us at all.

We specially requested a quiet, recently renovated room and were given one on the North Side of the building - the request had been captured on the system and upon arrival, were immediately serviced by the receptionist who was as friendly and kind as ever. There was no noise or loud talks ever experienced by us in our rooms and the staff were all utterly polite and very courteous - from the luggage keep to the receptionist. We were allowed to check in to our hotel at 8am, even though we were supposed to be let in only after 2pm (as per hotel policy). The staff were also very kind in assisting us with some of the tourist queries we had and went so far as to offer us advice and tips.

Needless to say, this was obviously not at the level of some of the 5* hotels I have stayed at in London, whilst visiting for business, but suited our needs perfectly and we will definitely be staying here in the future!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on the 6th floor, on the North Side - we stayed at room 6210 and it was recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DZL-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Royal National is a large hotel with a lot of rooms. Although it is big the check-in was quick and efficient. The room for 3 persons was great - clean and good! The breakfast room was noisy, but the English breakfast was good.
The location is great, close to Russel Square station (3 min walk) and lots of buses passes by the hotel.
Bad internet though, it only worked sometimes, in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having visited the hotel 15 years ago, we were surprised how different it looked (for the right reasons). Huge hotel but the checking in was very efficient. Rooms (we had 4 in one room) were acceptable. It overlooked a road and except for the occasional sirens, it was quiet. The shower is fixed in a bath and the pressure was high.
Internet was present only in the foyer and it wasn't good at all. You get a piece of paper having a username and password which will work for 4 hours (you can then get another login). It's free but with the high number of people, it was either very slow or didn't work.
It is in central London, 10 mins walk to Tottenham Court Road.
For its price and location, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iddun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel was Very busy during our stay,over the new year period,but despite this we had an enjoyable stay.We opted for a Quiet room and this was perfect,as the hotel is situated on a very busy road.Very Central to London Theatre land,and only a 10 min Stroll from Euston Station.Would stay here again,in QUIET room.Breakfast was a bit of a BUN FIGHT,but the food on offer was Acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The room I had was very basic with a very uncomfortable bed that was on wheels, so it moved away from the wall anytime I moved or rolled over. The shower was a bit of a pain as it would go from really hot to really cold for no reason. The location is great though, right near Russel Square station and Kings Cross/St. Pancras. The pub downstairs also has really good food for very cheap. Overall, fine for a few days but not much more than that.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizy_W5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A huge, very centrally located hotel. This is Ryan Air as a hotel. "We give you a room, you give us your money." The room was just fine, but make sure to get one facing the back yard. It's noisy, nevertheless. The cleaning staff started knocking on the door at eight o'clock, and kept knocking, even though they were told that we would leave the room around ten. This happened for three days. The breakfast was a chaotic survival of the fittest. The guests from 750 rooms were all guided to the food before they could find a table, resulting in numerous guests walking around in the restaurant with their trays, looking for a table. The breakfast staff never signaled that they were pleased by having so many guests paying their salaries, and the clearing and cleaning of the tables went slow, and much ended on the floor. The only place they offered a wifi connection was in the lobby. This meant that the lobby was filled, packed, with hundreds of people using their computers and telephones at night. A peculiar sight. Adding a pound to each bill would easily give the hotel the opportunity to offer a wireless connection on each room, and the problem with the evening crowd would be solved. A plus for the location and the room, a big minus for all the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Håkon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#573 of 1,077 in London
2,697 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#513 of 1,077 in London
3,663 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,077 in London
2,099 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $91 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing