We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal National Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$334
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$286
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$172
$158
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (8,609)
Filter reviews
8,609 results
Traveler rating
404
1,858
3,458
1,445
1,444
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
1,858
3,458
1,445
1,444
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2,118 - 2,123 of 8,609 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at the royal national 5 times over the last 3 months... So just saying that should tell you it is a good hotel. The location is great. You can get a tube straight from the airport to russel square which is only a 1 minute walk to the Royal National. It is a massive hotel, thousands of rooms. The rooms are clean and tidy. Bathrooms are nice. When exploring London all you really need is a clean room and comfy bed as there's so much to see and do. Tube is close, plus busses are right out the front. Russel Square is a nice area. Only down floor is it is extremely expensive. 81pound for a single room is around $150 for one night, which is very expensive especially for those travelling around. Only reason i have continued to stay here is because of it being in a handy location. Also very cheap to leave baggage and it is safe and secure. I would recommend it but not if your on a budget. Also you can't check in until 2pm which is a hassle because most flights from Aus land at 5am in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a street view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cheyannehatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is in a really great location, not very far from the British Museum and there are 2 metro stations within a walking distance. The price - in regard to London - is low: we were 6 people occupying 2 triple rooms and we spent 42£/56€ per person, per night breakfst included.
These are the only 2 nice things I can say about Royal National Hotel. The rooms are really dirty (under one of the bed we found: an empty plastic bottle, receipts, forgotten snacks...), sheets and towels were not really clean and sweet-smelling, the shower curtain was not completely white. The windows don't close well, so you hear all the noises coming from the street and the heater, when on, turns the room in a sauna.
This is a too big hotel (more than 1000 rooms), too old and the floor is covered with dirty mat. The breakfast is nothing special, but it's quite ok. It's really ok if you stay there 1 or nights, no more. I am not going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baby2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sad to say found the Hotel rather worn and uninspiring. Reception staff were very hassled but pleasant when you got to them. The Indian restaurant Poppadum Express was very warmly welcome but the food was only warm not hot, sad. Bedroom was very featureless helped by a TV that was lifeless! The Breakfast in the Windsor Room was industrial canteen style Continental Breakfast only but despite the rather tasteless juices, the fruit breads and comfits were good and coffee acceptable. Recommended by my carrier British Airways I doubt I would choose to go back on this ticket.

Room Tip: Do enquire before travelling as ariving in good faith (or tired more likely) you could be very disappointed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyM776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much but was surprised with the size of our room and it was pretty clean. I found the bed comfy but the pillows were awful. The facilities are basic but at least you have got facilities. The over bath shower is dated but flippin heck, power shower or what, nice after a stressful day. You have to prepay breakfast which was money wasted for us, the cue was appallingly long so we decided to go else where. The hotel doesn't have double glazing so there is no noise difference when the window is shut as when it is open, double or even triple glazing would be a great upgrade. It does get very noisy at night. Overall a good hotel for the money in a perfect location, only 5 mins from the tube and a 20 min walk to the theatre.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is very big! If you dont like 'big' then its probably not for you. The room was what we wanted, clean, towels changed whilst we were there (only two nights). Breakfast was fine, depends what you want. First morning we went down earlyish to be greeted by a long que, we soon got moving and were able to pick what we wanted from the buffett breakfast. Hotel very busy, always someone in the bar. Overall it was better than what we expected from a large hotel and the beauty of it it is in a central location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews