We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time I'll stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #884 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The only good thing about the rooms is that they are not small. I had a bed with bumps. I only got soap in the bathroom. No shampoo, shower gel ... nothing. There was that funny smell everywhere, no ventilation in the bathroom. The noise is unbearable, both from slamming the door in the corridor and from the street. Breakfast is another story. For breakfast and dinner we had to cross the courtyard (which is not a pleasant experience when it rains) because we had meals in the opposite wing, though there was a dining room in our wing too. For breakfast we had only jam and butter and cold toast, stale fruit and coffee. If you want something else you have to pay for it (4.5 for one small sausage). For dinner the meat was gristly and tasteless. The staff was not helpful at all. Working time is flexible for some services (like for renting the adapters).
The only good thing about this hotel (or better to say hostel) is the vicinity of Oxford Street (10ish min walk) and the tube (few min walk away).
I know that my friends and I won't be their guests again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,109 - 2,115 of 8,394 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is in need of renovation but in that sense you get what you pay for. But there's really no need for the staff to be so grumpy and rude. I was with a group of younger people and they really couldn't have been less helpful or polite. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stay for 6 night. It was very clean it have moderate breakfast and it was expensive for that they offer to us. But the place there are that hotel is very good, it is in the center of london near the TRANSPORTATION.

Room Tip: tell them to dive you room for the new side of that hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thanosgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was a bit nervous about staying here, but knowing what I had paid, didn't expect the world either.
The hotel is in an excellent location, 10/15 mins walk to Oxford Street, and Russell Square tube is a 2min walk away.
The hotel is basic, however is clean and has everything you need. It is very busy and there are always people in every area of the hotel.
Breakfast has everything you want/need, however, be prepared for the "cattle market" feel. Again, this is a very busy hotel with lots of people. If you want quiet and upmarket, this isn't for you, but again, if you want quiet & upmarket, pay the money for that!
I would definatley stay here again whilst the price is right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night after coming back from holiday. Our room was spotless and although there was noise from the courtyard we were too tired to notice and slept well. Breakfast was busy but adequate. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Terrible service! Unclean rooms, hairs everywhere!!! Booked twin share and got 2 single beds. If finishing a contiki tour book another location if staying after tour!! I would NEVER stay here again!!! It is terrible!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimmju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

'Service' at front desk was abrupt at best and ignorant at worst. One visit to the dining room was enough! Breakfast was a pigswill and staff couldn't get us out fast enough. Rooms are dated and noise from quadrangle downstairs doesn't stop until until early hours of the morning. Never again.

Room Tip: Our family was split so we had a room on the quadrangle side and one of the road side. Both were noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siaki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#563 of 1,081 in London
2,734 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#505 of 1,081 in London
3,708 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,292 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#561 of 1,081 in London
2,115 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #884 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing