We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal National Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Morton Hotel(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (8,533)
    Filter reviews
    8,533 results
    Traveler rating
    397
    1,847
    3,428
    1,431
    1,430
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    397
    1,847
    3,428
    1,431
    1,430
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,199 - 2,204 of 8,533 reviews
    Reviewed August 16, 2012

    We stayed at the hotel from the 6th up till the 12th august...as expected the hotel was packed during the Olympic games. To be honest we were quite happy with the hotel facilities...we weren't expecting anything out of this world judging from previous reviews yet the room was always clean,comfortable bed, had a flat screen, and a kettle for a coffee....we were located in the north part on the 1st floor. The hotel is central....nothing to complain about.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank charmaineparnis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 15, 2012

    There seem to be an awful lot of different views about this hotel!! We found it good value for the money - close to Russell Square tube staion with a nice, old fashioned creaky lift and easy access to other underground lines, standard self-service continenal breakfast, efficient checking in and out. Small rooms but quite big enough for tourists and good sized bathrooms. Try to get a room on the top florr for best views of surroundings. A selection of restaurants nearby and the quiet leafy Russell Square park with its café.
    But if you still visit London in the hope of meeting the perfect English gentlelman who will stand up, nod politely to a lady and then offer her his seat on the tube - forget it - even the pregnant, old and infirm or blind (or all of these) still have to 'fight' for their seats at every station!

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank BryanSweden
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

    To be honest, the location is good for the price-Very close to the tube and British museum. However, hygiene is a great problem. I found some black marks on the pillows, and my mum felt itch on the bed. After we changed to another room, the bed seems to about to collapse at any time. It kept shaking when we were on the bed. Breakfast included cold cereal, cold milk and cold toast, unless you paid 4.5 pounds.

    • Stayed: August 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Iris I
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 14, 2012

    That place was swamped with people from all over the world. Also the breakfast was below standard. Location was good. There is a good Indian restaurant nearby. Nearby underground station helps a lot in terms of connectivity. Also a couple of good restaurants nearby.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rokee R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 13, 2012

    I stayed at the Royal National pre and post my Contiki tour, so perhaps this review is a little skewed because of that.

    I had a great time, the rooms were clean and getting fresh towels and soap daily was nice. The bathroom was large and clean, the shower was hot and that's all that really mattered to me. Was annoying sometimes not having a bathroom mat but that's not really a big deal. The staff around the hotel were pretty quiet and kept to themselves, had very little personality. Sometimes the cleaners were a little overzealous to get in and clean up though so don't expect to sleep in (although it was really just a warm up for Contiki).

    There's no Wifi in the rooms, although sometimes you can grab a signal off the hotspots around the hotel. As others have said, there is Wifi in the lobby but it's pretty slow as there are a lot of Contiki travelers keeping in touch with everyone. Didn't matter so much as I could go to the Contiki basement to use their free, faster Wifi. There is also some pay as you go terminals that are littered around the lobbies that offer VoIP calls as well. Sometimes these worked, sometimes these didn't.

    Rooms had a couple of power points, so you didn't have to fight with strangers over whose electronics were going to charge. There was a TV but it didn't work in my first room and the second had limited channels, didn't matter though as I wasn't in the room very often.

    The size of this hotel is mind blowing, but each floor is serviced by 8 lifts so there was never really a wait to get to your room no matter what floor you were on.

    The location of the Royal National is perfect, you are about 2 minutes from Russel Square tube and the Brunswick Mall which is great to stock up on snacks or go for a meal (the Giraffe cafe is worthwhile!). I didn't have the breakfast here, but can recommend the little Italian cafe just up from the London Pub, good value breakfast that was a great way to start the day or the Pizza place in the courtyard. The London Pub does a decent meal, I never had any trouble but there were a couple of my travelers who got sick from eating here so your mileage may vary.

    There's no laundry services at the RN from what I know, but do not get sucked into the convenience of the laundry across the street, 20 pound and the result is ruined clothes. Take a tip and walk to the end of that street and turn left and walk up a block you'll find a laundry where you can wash things yourself for 4 pound and use the free Wifi.

    Overall for what you pay it's fairly pricey, but the location and ease of meeting fellow Contiki travelers makes it a great choice for the solo traveler in my opinion.

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank brendanabbott
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews