We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different experiences different times” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #294 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“different experiences different times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wish hotels would employ who could understand and speak English well, also understood customer services.

I have stayed at this hotel twice and 2 diferent experiences

first experience was good - the rooms are nice - yes small but the free water and fruit bowl and decor made up for it. the breakfast was good but do remember to ask them to cook any other form of eggs you want. do not expect them to be there.

it would better if the sausages and what the percentage of meat was in them was advertised and also also have more than more sausage
hotels often do not buy quality bacon and this was just ok
the hotel used to belong to a rich weathly woman and she lived in part of it, it is a beautiful house with great ceillings - stain glass windows and pillars etc and so much character.
the restaurant is a good example of that.
my first stay was good and good customer service and the second was awful
1. If they knew the room had not air conditioning why give that room to me - it was discourteous to say the least and they knew what they were doing.

2. Even animals in cars must have a window open in hot weather or they are fined, so how does that make me feel to find I am in a extremely hot room and to make it worse underground with the windows shut.

3. I am sure most of the other windows open and if mine had it would have made a huge difference.

4. so I had 2 nights in that heat and they could not even get a fan for the next day.

5. I was not offered any other room when I complained many times or a transfer to another of the chain hotels and therefore that is a huge area where the customer service was dreadful.
this was also on one of the hottest days of that year too
I had to write many emails to get just 50% payment back and the offer was only with an upgrade which was cheeky. they need to offer better customer service as the hotel offered nothing until I complained in writing 3 times
no bowl of fruit and water on second trip

Room Tip: choose your room carefully and make sure the heating and air conditioning work
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylee1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    1,311
    532
    222
    257
See reviews for
464
1,584
321
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel brilliant reception great bar staff was brilliant. Waitresses need more training great historic architure location excellent easy for underground station. Would definitely use again. The room was small club room but fine for little people no good if you are of larger proportion. Hyde park opposite you can enjoy a lovely stroll.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonniev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us.

We will surely take a note of your feedback with regards to a waitress services which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in an amazing spot in London- nearest tube stations are Bayswater and Queensway, giving you a wide variety of lines within 2 minutes walk of the hotel. The hotel is on Inverness Terrace; a 1 minute walk takes you to the gates of Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens. Kensington Palace, which is a must-see attraction, is probably a 10 minute leisurely stroll from the hotel.

The hotel itself has an impressive facade and a truly beautiful reception and lounge area. The staff upon check-in were very helpful and friendly; the hotel also offers a left luggage service which is great when checking in or out. The room itself (we stayed in 508 on the 5th floor, in a standard double) was very small but modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable. There is a secure in-room safe, a small dresser with hairdryer, and a flat screen television on the wall.

The bathroom is equally small but has Grohe fittings; in our room it was slightly tired (the soap dish and sink had seen better days, both of them having cracks in them), but still very functional and great for single travellers or tourists not wanting to spend much time in the room.

Breakfast in the morning was served in an equally impressive room on the second floor. There was a wide variety of cold and hot breakfast options; the food was generally of a higher quality than expected.

Overall, the special decor of the communal areas and the incredible location make this a great hotel for shorter visits to London. The price we paid (£142 for the room and breakfast) made it very good value for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter. Access to the 'Club Lounge' does not appear to be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester12331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for one night during May half term. We booked the hotel as there was an offer on laterooms for the room plus breakfast for about £130, which we thought was great for a '4 star' hotel.

The hotel was ok. Clean enough but not spotless. The room itself was absolutely miniature! I've never been in a room so small. You literally could not walk around the bed, you had to climb over it to sleep on the far side! You also could not sit on the desk seat as it was so close to the bed.

Service was ok. We were allowed to check in early which was nice as some London hotels are not happy about this! However, in the morning we went down to breakfast and were told we had not paid. My partner assured the waitress we had but she said it was not her problem and she would check with the receptionist. The waitress then came back and told us reception had confirmed we had not paid. My partner had to go down to the desk to show our confirmation email. They were very apologetic but obviously this had an impact on our relaxing break!

The location is good- located between two tube stations (2 min walk from each).

Overall the hotel is ok but definitely not 4*!!!! I don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L87SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We are sorry to hear about the incident at the breakfast . We value your feedback & will try our best to use it in the most possible constructive manner.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Cardiff
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I were guests at Westminster Abbey for the Queens Thanksgiving Service and we wanted to make the most of our few days in London. The Royale Grand was well situated for us, staff welcoming and very helpful but our room was rather too compact (the write up when we booked on line said the rooms were spacious!). There was no where to sit and read other than the bed, with barely enough room to dress in comfort. However, for a short stay the location was excellent and the staff made up for the shortfall in accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room and opt for something bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory.

Being one of the heritage property, highly listed building and modern design done in our rooms, we do tend to struggle with our room size although we do have larger rooms available.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location very near Queensway tube station and a stone's throw from Hyde Park. We stayed here for a concert at the Royal Albert Hall and the walk across the park from hotel to venue added to our enjoyment of the evening. The wonderfully ornate hotel entrance and lounge area was a pleasant surprise for a moderately sized hotel with wood carvings everywhere! Our room (112) was modern, quiet and well appointed. Maybe a little on the small size, but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed & superb power shower! The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S1eepy_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words on your recent stay at The Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I was delighted that we met your expectations in all aspects of your stay. Please do come back and see us again soon. your encoring and motivating feedback will also be shared with the team.

Kind regards
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the royal grande hotel, this was right next to hyde park and a tube station just around the corner.

We felt the price was high considering the size of the room provided. However staff are friendly and polite even when they forget to bring your coffee on the breakfast service. The hotel itself was beautiful and air con made the stay pleasant, without this the room would have been very stuffy. We had a window view of a wall making the room less appealing however we were not there for this so wasnt a problem for us. Room was clean and tidy, the odd bit of dust but other than that it was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustyspoon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park and i'm pleased to know your stay with us was pleasant.

We will surely take a note of your constructive feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will pass on your motivating & encouraging feedback to the team which will indeed act as a benchmark for us to maintain at all times.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing