We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #295 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is located very convenient a few steps from Hyde Park and with 2 tube stations around the corner.
Being in Bayswater you have access to all the good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel.
However the rooms are extremely small, which can make it a challenge to stay 2 people in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikmelgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory and the location was ideal for your trip.

Being one of the heritage property, highly listed building and modern design done in our rooms, we do tend to struggle with our room size although we do have larger rooms available.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    1,250
    508
    214
    244
See reviews for
426
1,482
307
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel in the very british spirit.
Confortable room althought a bit little, nice bar salon with confortable " club " armchairs.
4 stars services.
Nice location , close to Hyde Park, Nothing hill Gate and Oxford Street.

Perfect for business or week end break

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

we stayed in the hotel over the Easter weekend and it was very cheap for the location over a bank holiday. the staff where lovely and very helpful even if there English was a bit ropey at times. the bell boys were very good and very helpful. the room its self was small however it was a nice room and very tidy only bad point is the bath room bin was half full but soon rectified by the staff once they were made a were of it. when we booked we opted for the breakfast where as are friends didnt and it cost them £60 for four breakfasts. the breakfast its self was on the money and really good it was also self service and all you can eat i recommend the sausages they where lovely. on sitting down in the restaurant the waiters bring you over a pot of tea or coffee and its a very chilled atmosphere witch is good with a hang over. all in all i give it a 10/10 and would recommend this hotel its also a 2 min walk from the queens way tube so its good for logistics

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny Gifted R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Our mission is to make your stay memorable in every way, and your comments will provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Royale London Hyde Park in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my second visit and I will definitely use this hotel again. Very near tube stations, warm, friendly, excellent breakfast,clean and efficient. Rooms small but compact. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_mcg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory in every aspect and was comfortable too.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and has its own charm. The room I stayed in on the 1st floor unfortunately had stairs in them. I don't quite mind walking up the stairs to the 1st floor (there were no lifts to that particular floor) but having stairs in the room, like a loft, was quite weird. I don't recommend this if you don't feel like climbing up stairs in order to get to your bed (the toilet was on the lower ground.)

The hotel is a 2-3mins walk away from the Bayswater area (literally behind the hotel) and there are several tube stations in the vicinity (Queensway, Bayswater, Lancaster Gate) hence it was very easy to travel. Lots of Halal food in the area as well for Muslims. The location is very convenient in terms of travel and eating out.

The reception was helpful enough but the staff looked at my mother who carried a heavy baggage when we checked out (to go down more stairs) and did not help out. The service was very average but the rooms were nice enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with no stairs in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiraA751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having read many of the "recent reviews" over the past years, I was a bit worried about the quality of this hotel. Quite many of the TRIPADVISOR mentioned that this place was a no-go though its phantastic proximity to the two nearest tube stations (Bayswater & Queensway) as well as the close distance to the Hyde Park.
Luckily, it turned out to be a perfect location - and hotel - the room was small (# 510) but the the refurbished ones on this floor were excellent in terms of cleanliness, neatness, etc.
Value for money - including VAT & breakfast - was perfect - hope that this standard will last in future, so that I will book this hotel for my forthcoming London visits, again!
Ambience of the breakfast room, the first floor as well as the lobby and bar were great - having experienced and relished the Edwardian/Victorian style. Hope to hearing from a subtile newsletter from this hotel ...
Only negative: Very small rooms to stay in - that's all ...
Cheers,
Manfred Kleimann
Kassel, Germany

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 5th floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManfredK931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory in every aspect and was comfortable too.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our refurbished rooms, cleaning service and the breakfast.

Being one of the heritage property, highly listed building and modern design done in our rooms, we do tend to struggle with our room size although we do have larger rooms available.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at Grand Royale. The building is very impressive both inside and out. The staff were friendly and were asking about my stay and if everything was satisfactory. I stayed in a suite which had a lovely well fitted bathroom, a 4 poster bed and all the amenities. There was a bottle of wine and fruit basket on arrival which was great touch. After check out they offered to hold my bags until I got the train which saved my carrying a bag around london all day. Many thanks to the staff for great night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbass89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Our mission is to make your stay memorable in every way, and your comments will provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Royale London Hyde Park in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#208 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#287 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing