We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #273 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed many times over the past 3/4 years always at the Grand Royale.
The location is perfect really close to Queensway underground and Hyde Park right opposite.
Bus route is excellent for Oxford street and many more places.
The hotel is very friendly with excellent staff we were treated extremely well by managers Ankur and Dipak
The batman Vitor is also an exceptional member of staff always friendly and helpful as is Ravi and all the staff in the breakfast room.
Breakfast is excellent value all fresh and nothing is too much trouble .
We will be returning on many more occasions to the beautiful, friendly and reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    1,374
    541
    224
    256
See reviews for
500
1,653
331
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I really like this hotel, it feels homely. It is full of character with a beautiful reception and ground floor area, with it's wood panelling and stained glass windows it almost feels like a stately home. It is a very handy location 1 minutes from the tube and bus stops, opposite Hyde Park and just down the road from Oxford Street.

The staff are friendly and the room rates varies between good and very good. Some of the rooms are small but all finished to a high standard. I stay hear most weeks for 1 or 2 nights a week. Breakfast is also good.

Nigel J.

Room Tip: higher floors on the front are best. It is worth paying for a double room even if you only require a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The positives: The location, the reception and lounge areas look lovely, the beds are comfortable
The negatives: The rooms are unbelievably small, be wary of the room type you book, I was moved room during my stay as the room I was allocated upon arrival didn't match the description on the internet, the room I was moved to also didn't match the description. You should also be wary of complaining to the reception staff, I did this and was practically called a liar in reception, in front of other guests. The bar is over priced (even for central London).
I saw numerous people being turned away to other hotels within the group, one couple even came back as the hotel they were sent to, didn't have a room, surprisingly, the hotel then had a room available for them, needless to say it didn't match what they had booked though, so they were back complaining too. I also saw people complaining about no hot water, air conditioning not working, windows not closing, windows and doors not locking and smelly bathrooms. I'm sure there are nice rooms in the hotel, it just didn't appear anyone could find them. I got the impression that the hotel are used to moving people rooms, mid stay and transferring people to other hotels.
I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Grand Royale has a wealth of stunning, historic architectural details in the common areas. This and the location are what drew me to it, as well as the excellent price. My room was spacious and clean, but a little tired-looking. Still, for the price, it was outstanding (£180 for 2 nights in a double). The heating wasn't working properly, but a friendly, helpful member of staff brought a heater to the room immediately. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I love the Grande Royale for its personal and friendly atmosphere, its convenient location to tubes, busses, Hyde Park and Oxford Street shops. The rooms are small but well presented, above all, very clean and modern. Its got all I need on a short-stay business trip and I always go back there. invariably I get my room for less than £100 per night including breakfast, which is exceptional value for money. I can highly recommend this hotel based on my personal experience over many years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar saba, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good location in central London, just 2 minutes walk from closest tube station. I stayed for four nights, September 2012, and it was very important to me to stay close to the center. that I got. Other than that, The room was very clean. and - since it was a warmer week than usually in London - the air-condition was great. Also, the room was recently renewed.
But - I stayed in the smallest room i've ever seen in my life, and I travel a lot. Even smaller than tiny rooms I've seen in Paris. Really claustrophobic. Tiny bathroom with no place for toiletries, and you have to climb over your own suitcase in order to get to the bed.
The staff at the front desk was not particularly friendly.
All and all - the hotel is a reasonable choice for a reasonable price in this very expensive city, as long as you are prepared to stay in a microscopic room and just need a decent place to crash after a working or touring day.

Room Tip: avoid rooms below street level (i.e room number starting with "00" such as 008) - not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 020 7313 7900.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here on and off for three months, hotel staff were very helpful and the location is great (opposite Hyde Park - great for a run) and by two tube stations. The rooms are on the small side and the bar could do with a makeover, but for a trip to the capital would recommend, breakfast was ver very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,067 in London
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,067 in London
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing