We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for After-Meal Drinks”
Review of Assaggetti

Assaggetti
Ranked #3,433 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Assaggetti offers guests the chance to try selections of small dishes in chic and welcoming surroundings. Signature dishes such as Straccetti from Siena (fresh pasta with Tuscan sausage) and Tagliata All’Aceto Balsamico (grilled entrecote steak with balsamic vinegar) can be served in larger, more traditional portions or shared with a range of fantastic dishes. Assaggetti is ideally placed for diners to enjoy earthy food offering good value before or after a night at the theatre or somewhere to catch up with friends and enjoy an evening tasting dishes and enjoying our extensive Prosecco selection.
London
Level Contributor
235 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for After-Meal Drinks”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went here on the off-chance that it was open for nibbles and drinks. I walked in and was absolutely amazed at the décor, the chandelier was stunning and the mood was quite romantic. We ordered cocktails, olives and breads and dips and had a very lovely time. We had an attentive waiter who was very efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    193
    90
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great for pre-theatre visit”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant is directly opposite the Haymarket theatre where we had booked to see 'One man, Two Governors'. We made an advanced reservation via TopTable as we weren't able to book directly with the restaurant for the early time we needed prior to the show. Although when you enter the place looks small, we were shown to a table in the basement where there was ample room. They offer a 'chef's special' 3 course meal for £11.75, where you choose three items from a list. The range of selection was fairly limited but sufficient and very tasty. Service was friendly, attentive and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
172 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The smallest meal in the world.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What can I say about this restaurant. We go into London and meet regularly for drinking, socialising and eating. This place was the biggest mistake. We were extremely hungry and it was raining so we just wanted to get shelter from the rain. The restaurant was very empty for a Saturday evening. However we thought nothing of it. When we ordered what can I say the portion sizes were ridiculous far too small for the price and the glasses of wine my friends received were tiny. The food was also very cold. After eating our main course and dessert which was equally small we were still hungry. The service charge was also a laugh. I would never go back to this restaurant again and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Do your research first check out tripadvisor and do not make the mistake we made.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NDRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ladies evening out”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant was empty which we found odd for a Friday night in central London. However, the waiters were attentive and attractive, if a little too quick to bring the courses. The portions were small for the price of the meal but it was helped along with 2 for 1 on glasses of Prosecco! The flavours were good and the desserts all very well presented. Just give us a little more of everything please.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hassle Free”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My brother and I went to eat here before seeing Phantom of the Opera, the food came very quickly and was very nice, perhaps a little overpriced but worth it for the good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggetti also viewed

 

Been to Assaggetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing