We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaggetti

Assaggetti
Ranked #3,260 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Assaggetti offers guests the chance to try selections of small dishes in chic and welcoming surroundings. Signature dishes such as Straccetti from Siena (fresh pasta with Tuscan sausage) and Tagliata All’Aceto Balsamico (grilled entrecote steak with balsamic vinegar) can be served in larger, more traditional portions or shared with a range of fantastic dishes. Assaggetti is ideally placed for diners to enjoy earthy food offering good value before or after a night at the theatre or somewhere to catch up with friends and enjoy an evening tasting dishes and enjoying our extensive Prosecco selection.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Confusing menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend and I decided to go into Assaggetti when we were looking for somewhere to eat. We liked the look of the place and the menu said3 dishes for £11.95, so we went in. I found the waiters a bit over the top always around until we wanted to order. We decided on the 6 dishes we were going to share we had decided against any deserts as they didn't appeal but were told we had to have one from each section. So the waiter stood there and waited till we had chosen, I ordered the regular sized gnocchi and unfortunately the portion was so small then ordered a desert which was also small needless to say I went home hungry whic at £20.00 ahead with no alcohol I was very upset about.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    188
    85
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for any occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Called in for a celebratory birthday drink before the theatre. Bustling with people. Staff were very attentive and readily topping our glasses. Calamari looked great but the theatre was calling! Must pop in again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baileyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, portions/prices/service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Popped in for lunch, based on a work colleague saying was good service, authentic Italian.
All the food was of a good standard and very tasty. Service was very laid back, the waiters seemed more interested in themselves than serving or offering any recommendations when asked. The only time they seemed interested was when the bill came and they were looking for thr gratuity. A couple came in 5 mins after us and sat on the table beside us yet ended up getting their order before us despite us telling the waiter we were in a hurry. The portion sizes are a bit small on some things and about right on others. For instance the salad and calamari felt a bit mean in size. I left feeling hungry and disappointed as did my partner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Assaggetti, Central London - Nice Food, shame about portion size”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

In London for weekend and ate here for Pre Theatre meal.
Picked this restaurant as it was opposite our Theatre destination, "Theatre Royal Haymarket".
Service was good & friendly, 2 for 1 Prosecco Pre 18:00 ( £5.49) was good value.
The food is Italian Tapas in style with option to upscale to main portion size for @£10.
the reality is the small size is a bite & main is tapas size.
I had 3 tapas size dishes, Calamari Fritti (£3.95), decent portion (only dish that was), Tuscan Sausage (£5.25) small size, tasty but 1 1/2 links only for this money, not worth it.
My friends had main size portions of Gnocchetti (£9.50) & Straccetti, a pasta dish, (£9.50).
Though both were tasty, the portion size was small, almost Tapas size. Where the restaurant did take the p**s was the salad. £3.45 fit a few shavings of lettuce and 1/2 tomato sliced thinly to make it look more, pathetic, more salad on a supermarket sandwich.
Though the food we had tasted good, would not recommend as the portion sizes are rip off, even for London.
Shame as so much potential.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LulieA, Public Relations Manager at Assaggetti, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience of Assaggetti.
We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel the portion sizes were adequate.
Please do email andrea.fraquelli@metrorest.com directly and we will do our utmost to restore your faith in our brand.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Assaggetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We did not book, it was a Saturday but we got in at 6ish, the portions are small but it is all affordable and a nice place to eat

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DerbyATom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LulieA, Public Relations Manager at Assaggetti, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you fro taking the time to write about your recent meal at Assaggetti.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and understood our 'tapas' concept.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Wishes from all at Assaggetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggetti also viewed

 

Been to Assaggetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing