We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny place, but not for good food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le P'tit Normand - CLOSED

Le P'tit Normand
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funny place, but not for good food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This place is a throwback to what people wanted from French restaurants in the seventies fussy food with no real flavour, and over the top quaint decor. My starter of tuna cakes were three small deep fried balls of mainly mashed potato, barely teasing of tuna. They were served on three cold, but artistically arranged piles of cooked shredded carrot in cream.
My wife had squid in a tomato sauce with mussels, although neither key ingredient tasted particularly fresh.
For mains we ordered cod (again served in a tomato sauce) and the steak frites. The steak was well cooked in a pepper sauce and came with a green salad. However the home made chips, with skin on, we're completely overlooked. Couldn't be pierced with a fork so were eaten by hand. The cod was pronounced ok, but appeared a very meagrely portion.
The desert plate had one tiny crete brûlée where the top had some charred flavour, not the normal caramelisation, a chocolate pyramid with white fondant inside, and most mysteriously, what looked like two chocolate chip cookies out of a sainsburys value tube. By all means serve a perfect vanilla shortbread with a panna cotta, but two builders biscuits was ridiculous. Thought of complaining, but I can just imagine the chef wanting to know why we wanted more sight of tuna in the fishcake and less of artfully arranged creamed carrot.
One to avoid for good food, although we were in fits of laughter about how bad it was. 54 including service, next time we will go to the pub and pay 35-40 for better food.
It is a shame that they pay such attention to the look of the dishes and so little to the eating experience. All the dishes were decorated with balsamic vinegar frames, whether it went with the food or not.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust-amritsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save room for the cheese board!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We've visited this restaurant twice since we moved to the area six months ago and I'm already planning when I can return.
The owner is incredibly friendly and warm, and the food fantastic.
Not the prettiest of areas, but once you step inside it's cosy and welcoming and I'm always fascinated by the bottles of calvados that line the bar. This isn't a modern, interior designed restaurant but I like that it's different.
We went for my mother in law's birthday and almost before we'd even sat down, little glasses of kir royale were put in front of us.
My hubby ate steak tartare and loved it, my father in law, a foie gras creme brulee which he gobbled up before anyone else could steal a taste. All our choices were very good.
But oh.... the cheeseboard.... it's really quite special. Definitely save room for the cheese!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexiloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rose between two thorns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ptit Normand i nestled between a kebab shop and a barbers, not the most salubrious of settings but thankfully here it is all about the food.

Petit Normand is my local French restaurant and i have eaten there on a number of occasions. Each time has been great. Kristina, the manager is wonderful, extremely welcoming and happy to accomodate special requests eg she had a a cake made and iced specially for my wife and friends birthday at short notice.
The food is always excellent with a menu changing accoring to seasonal ingredients, decent winelist. There are always interesting specials worth exploring.
This is one of my hidden gems.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonzo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Inauspiciously situated opposite a bus stop and next to a kebab shop this wonderful restaurant is easy to overlook. But the food is excellent - very French - and with a great atmosphere and charming service. They have great deals for set meals such as Sunday lunch. We feel very lucky to have such a special place nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maitlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Regular diners at this lovely restaurant, the food is always well thought out, cooked and presented to a high standard by Ludo and the service attentive and personable. The owner, Krystyna, does a superb job. Good wines and fantastic selection of armagnacs. The cheese course is legendary! All of this and not in the West End makes it more than good value.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le P'tit Normand also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing