We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brick Lane Hotel

Brick Lane Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brick Lane Hotel
Ranked #347 of 572 London B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very clean room. £49 is a bargain for location and staff are ultra friendly. Can't find a single fault and I'm a very fussy person lol overall top place for cheap overnight stay. Can't overstate the cleanliness which I must admit was a surprise as didn't expect much. Paid a lot more for a lot less before. Top marks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
16
38
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west kirby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel, and found the rooms spotlessly clean, with simple, modern furniture. The shower was good, plenty of hot water. We were delighted to find that we were on the"Autumn special" rate, which included a 2 course dinner in the Indian restaurant downstairs, and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Brick Lane is an interesting and vibrant area, with a large, busy Sunday market, and plenty of bars and cafes. The hotel is at the quieter end of the street, near the tube station, we only heard a little bit of noise during the night, and that was on a Saturday. £79 for two, including dinner, in a comfortable, well located London hotel is hard to beat. The friendly, helpful staff made us very welcome, and we would certainly stay here again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestKirbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acer1ism
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the BLH for 3 nights during Oct 2012 and would say this is a very good hotel considering the location and price. I was working locally and needed a cheap place to stay that was clean, tidy and friendly - and the BLH was all of these things.

Other hotels in the area all exceeded £100pn and the BLH was certainly more competitive than the rest. The room was small, but then again, most are in central LDN. The bathroom was well presented and the power shower was great. TV in the room had good reception. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy.

The only thing that i would have liked to be improved was the quality of the mattress that was a little tired and lumpy, an extra pillow or two as mine was a little flat, and the bed linen could have been nicer.

I was also able to negotiate a free evening meal each night from the restaurant below the hotel which i would also rate as very good. I believe they often do deals for residents so be sure to ask what kind of offer they might be able to give you - especially if you like a good curry!

Room Tip: Push your luck and ask for free/discounted evening meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acer1ism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is simple and clean, above a reasonable Bangladeshi restaurant (no odors but sometimes a whiff of light curry we found pleasant). The floors are wood, uncarpeted, therefore clean - but! if you stay, in an upper room, please walk and pack quietly if you leave at 5:30AM! We tested the extra pillow request, but the hotel must read TripAdvisor, since it was quickly delivered! In fact the reception is exceptional, exemplary: on the case, watches the rooms and visitors, and generally makes the stay personally enjoyable. Streets at night are quiet on weekdays (our stay) with enough people to make it seem safe for walking about. Taxi stand and tube easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed here on business as I was working nearby in Broadgate. The room rate was very reasonable and I was fed up of chain hotels so I thought I would give it is a go.

The room itself was clean but sparse. The shower was great, high pressure and lots of hot water.

Breakfast was not included which was fine as this was detailed when booking.

The only complaint I have is that the tv didn't work and this was not fixed by the time I checked out after three nights, despite me notifying reception after the first night. This was a bit of a pain as i was on my own and the tv was my only entertainment! The walls are also very thin as I was woken up by someone in their bathroom one morning (not my favourite morning sound).

Overall it was a good experience and I would use it again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great location for Brick Lane, Easy access from Tube. A great base to have a night on Brick Lane, and try a delicious curry. We stayed in March for one night just so we could stay past last tube time and enjoy the atmosphere on a friday night!
The hotel has been recently modernised and done to a decent standard. It was comfortable, clean, and the receptionist was polite and helpful.
One tip, the extra £5 per person for breakfast might seem a good deal but don't bother, It was an apple, ribena, a kelloggs mini cereal pack and a pint of milk (each) delivered to your room... Don't let that put you off staying, just take something with you to put you on in the morning until you can get something else :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Usually I write positive reviews on here and have done so for several hotels in different parts of the world. Often my motivation is to let other travellers know of good places to stay because I know what it's like trawling the internet in search of reviews. In this case my review of the Brick Lane Hotel is inspired by the desire to warn people about what I see as exaggerated advertising. The reality of this hotel is very different from the way that it markets itself. I booked it on the basis of its website and got the impression it was a cosy little b&b style hotel with a taste of the exotic. On a city centre stopover for work purposes I decided to bring my wife there.
Unfortunately as soon as she saw the place she wanted to leave. But having given credit card details we decided to stay. At 85 pounds per night it offers little more than a hostel might offer for half the price. The double bedroom, though tidy, was very minimalist and the wooden floorboards did little to give it any warmth or character.
What defined the hotel for me though was the morning after when we got our breakfast. It was a pack of cereal from one of those kids' multi-packs and a cup of tea.
I am not sure if it was ignorance on the part of the owners as to what is expected from bed & breakfast or deliberate minimalism. Whatever it is, the experience was quite unsatisfying on the whole and I would suggest that this is neither a hotel for business travellers or couples. And at the price it's probably not much of a young person's hotel either. I felt very cheated and angry at promising my wife a nice hotel, then giving her this kind of one star experience.
However on the plus side the staff were nice and courteous and they tried hard. I imagine they have people who have walked out upon seeing what they have booked themselves into.
Keep away from here unless you have money to burn. Even if you just wanted a bed after a night of socialising in the city, the breakfast will hardly do the trick next morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Monopoly Accommodations
Monopoly Accommodations
#165 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Whitechapel
The Whitechapel Hotel
The Whitechapel Hotel
#114 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Whitechapel
The Culpeper Bedrooms
The Culpeper Bedrooms
#145 of 572 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Lane Hotel

Property: Brick Lane Hotel
Address: 13 Brick Lane, London E1 6PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Brick Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brick Lane Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing