We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check Your Bill Carefully...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Desperados

Desperados
Ranked #12,846 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Check Your Bill Carefully...”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was in Greenwich deciding which of the two Mexican restaurants on Greenwich Church Street to eat at.

We stood outside Desperados looking outside, when a man in a suit stood near the entrance (owner? manager?) came over to us and offered us our first drinks free if we ate there. We took him up on his offer. He ushered us inside and took us to a table.

The place was small but busy - we had a small table sat so close to the diners next to us, we could have been mistaken for being one whole group.

We ordered fajitas which were decent enough, and 2 beers (our free drinks, remember).

When we asked for the bill, I noticed immediately that we had been charged for the beers. I told the staff the situation regarding the gentleman who had made us the offer. They went away and came back with a revised bill, deducting the price of the beers.

However, a 10% service charge had been added to the first bill (I hate when restaurants do that - I'll decide what the service is worth, thanks!) but when the new bill appeared, the service charge was still 10% of the original amount, not the revised amount.

This service charge, and pulling the stunt of trying to make us pay for our "free" beers, left a nasty taste in our mouths.

We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philipswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    66
    28
    19
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local colour with eager to please but amateurish staff”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went mid week early Wed 19:00 hrs before a visit to the Cinema, the staff struggled with interpreting the menu (two struggled with English) and you shouldn't have to ask four times for anything, let alone a glass of water! The food arrived quickly what came was fresh and hot, as it was early in the evening the chef was still getting going, but to be very picky the onions in the fajitas weren't nearly caramelised enough but not serious enough to complain about.The pasta with seafood in tomato sauce was also good with plenty of salmon mussels prawns and squid but had not been allowed to cook long enough to develop the flavour of the tomatoes so it seemed a little bland. Generally the food was fairly good value for money, there was plenty of it, and a bottle of Chianti at £23 was a little steep but a nice quality wine. The place could do with a bit of a spring clean as all the hats, Mexican memorabilia and other sundry bits hanging from the walls and ceiling looked as if they had hung there for some time collecting dust but some might say that adds to the charm and atmosphere. All in all a good experience but the waiting staff need much more on the job training especially as they were not at all familiar with the menu or the wine list (three attempts at ordering the wine!). The tables in the window have quite a good view of the Cutty Sark sailing ship and across the river Thames (albeit across a busy road). I will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a nice meal here with my wife. Went on a Sunday afternoon, very busy. It was a voucher deal we purchased from Groupon 2 starters plus mains and a cocktail each. They told us how much you could spend on starters and mains but was allowed to order more expensive items and pay the difference. Food was fresh and hot, big portions! My only complaint they charge you service charge for the entire cost of the mea!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unhygienic and overpriced”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is awful, the food inedible. The service certainly did not justify the 10% service charge they automatically add on. But the worst thing about this place is that it appears to be completely filthy. I had to sit looking at a wall with what appeared to be old food splattered up it, the floors were sticky and I wasn't quite sure if I could constantly smell the toilets or the food in this place, but both smells wafted in and out throughout the meal. I dread to think what the kitchen was like. I eat out a lot in London but this was about as bad as it gets. The whole place is designed to rip off tourists and loud stag dos. I don't recommend it unless you are drunk enough not to care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal at Desperados Greenwich London”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had an excellent meal here today we booked through Groupon and on arrival we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff who were keen to explain everything on the menu & could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed a starter & main which were spicey & deliscious & excellent value for money!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados also viewed

 
Cranford, Greater London
 

Been to Desperados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing