We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Survivor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #2,927 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Southwark
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Survivor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is how pubs used to be before some decided that they needed to tart themselves up. The Oak has great Harveys beer (until recently their only London house) and wonderful food. It's also very airy and light. The food is good quality and generous; I should try other stuff, but I go always for the steak and kidney pudding, which is excellent and substantial. The service was very friendly and very prompt. I've been here so many times before, and each time I'm so grateful I looked it up all those years ago, thanks to adverts in the London Drinker magazine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charnowalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendliest pub in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Every time we go to London we end up loving this place more. Lovely staff and regulars are sweet and funny. Food is great pub fare. It's also some of the best Ale to be had in London. Harvey and Son's Pub with a few Guest beers and always one Fullers on tap. For an extra treat try a bottle of Elizabethan Ale at 7.5%. A 5 min walk from the Borough Tube stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyfrahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a quiet local pint, enjoyed every minute in there and every drop of our Guinness! We'll be back for a meal, the food looked great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's My Local - 'nuf said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Around the corner (literally) from where i was staying at Empire Square, this traditional and very friendly and warm pub became and remains my local. Have a half pint of Thatcher's Cider for me, and order dinner or just a bowl of chips. Wonderful pub.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found this place thanks to trip advisor as far it is a bit off the road.
Prices are average (about 3-4 pounds per pint), food was great!
I've tasted tomato chutney here for the first time - it was just brilliant.
Ales were great too. Live music was very delightful (violins!). Unfortunately, the pub is not very big, so might be a bit crowded.
Loved this place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine_Sizova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing