We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #2,640 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Southwark
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a quiet local pint, enjoyed every minute in there and every drop of our Guinness! We'll be back for a meal, the food looked great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's My Local - 'nuf said”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Around the corner (literally) from where i was staying at Empire Square, this traditional and very friendly and warm pub became and remains my local. Have a half pint of Thatcher's Cider for me, and order dinner or just a bowl of chips. Wonderful pub.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real gem”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Found this place thanks to trip advisor as far it is a bit off the road.
Prices are average (about 3-4 pounds per pint), food was great!
I've tasted tomato chutney here for the first time - it was just brilliant.
Ales were great too. Live music was very delightful (violins!). Unfortunately, the pub is not very big, so might be a bit crowded.
Loved this place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine_Sizova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A proper English pub”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Quality brew and atmosphere. Tasty selection of beers and a large menu of food items, both reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Beau R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Charming pub, friendly bar staff”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

3 of us stopped in for a sunday roast, not knowing exactly what that was but seeing it all over the reviews of other pubs. The Royal Oak had very high reviews specifically for the sunday roast so we decided to give it a go. It was a cold Sunday and the place was mostly empty. It's a charming little pub broken into 3 sections around a central bar. The young man at the bar took our order and gave us our beer and we were quickly enjoying the very generous portions (too big, in fact). The roast wasn't quite what we expected and while we weren't transformed by the experience, it was tasty and very reasonable for the price. The beer was good, the food was tasty and the atmosphere was really nice. No complaints, but nothing earth shattering either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing